Updated at: 11-06-2022 - By: Lucas

If you like being alone in your car, you probably have a set of window tints.

No matter if your tints are stickers, dyed, or one of the other four types, it can be hard to stay on the right side of the law.

Depending on where you live, the tints you have might be against the law and get you a big fine.

So they don’t get fined a lot of money, people who drive tinted cars across the country need to know what the rules are in each state.

The same is true for the north, which is the last frontier.

Alaska has more wilderness and roads that connect it than any other state. It has more roads than any other state.

In some ways, Alaska’s laws about window tint are different from the rest of the country. In other ways, they are the same as the rest of the country.

Find out everything you need to know by reading the article below.

Determine the Tint Percentage on Your Car

Alaska Tint Laws-2

Before we can talk about the details of Alaska’s window tint law, we need to know how much of your car’s windows are tinted.

All the information about the law is useless without this metric. To figure it out, you don’t need a special tool or a laser beam.

Visible light transmission, or VLT, is a way to measure tints.

This measurement is basically the product of how dark your window was before you added more tint and how dark it is now.

For example, if the factory tint on your windows was 40% and you added 5% to that, the total tint would be 2%.

That would mean that your window can only let about 2% of light in.

The darker your tint will be, the lower the percentage.

You can look in your car’s manual or ask the person or place where you bought it for the original tint percentage.

How dark you want your windows to be will determine how much more tint you add.

A tint of 50 percent is already pretty dark because it blocks about half of the light that comes through. Some of the darkest tints on the market are 5 percent tints, and limo drivers usually use them to keep their passengers’ privacy.

Alaska Tint Laws

Alaska’s tint laws depend on what part of your car is tinted and what kind of car you’re driving.

To get it, you need to know what some words mean.

“Front-side windows” refers to the windows on the passenger side and the driver side of a car.

The two windows in the back are called “back-side windows.”

The back window is easy to understand, and while your windshield won’t be tinted, it might have a “shade band” on the top five inches.

Lastly, “reflective tints” are metallic tints that make light bounce back.

In many states, they are against the law.

Passenger Vehicles

Passenger vehicles are basic cars that can seat ten or less people.

Sedan, Coupe, Hatchback, Convertible, Station Wagon, and Hardtop are all models that come as standard.

Windshield: A shade band can go on the top five inches. Only tints that don’t reflect.

70 percent or more VLT on the front side windows

Back windows: at least 40 percent VLT

40 percent or more VLT in the rear window

Multi-Purpose Vehicles

Multi-purpose vehicles are cars, trucks, and trailers that do more than just move people from one place to another.

SUVs, RVs, campers, panels, vans, minibuses, and pick-up trucks are some of the models that come as standard.

Windshield: A shade band can go on the top five inches. Only tints that don’t reflect.

70 percent or more VLT on the front side windows

Back windows: at least 40 percent VLT

40 percent or more VLT in the rear window

Other Alaska Tint Laws

Alaska Tint Laws-3

If you drive with tints, you already know that there are more rules to follow than just VLT.

The police can pull you over if your tint is the wrong colour or if it isn’t approved in your state.

Below, you can read about the different tint laws in Alaska.

Side Mirrors

Even though your side mirrors have nothing to do with your tints, many people who customise cars want to change the way their cars look in general.

In Alaska, you have to have a left-side mirror.

You’ll also need a mirror on the right side of the car or one inside the car, preferably in the middle.

Window Tint Certification

In some states, it is illegal to drive with tints that aren’t approved, which can get you into a lot of trouble.

Alaska doesn’t care whether someone is certified or not.

You can drive with tints from any company as long as they meet the requirements set by the VLT.

You also won’t need a certification sticker for your window tint in Alaska.

Alaskans can have different shades of colour, but they have narrowed the choices down to four:



green, and


Medical Exemptions

People who spend a lot of time in their cars and want to escape the long days in Alaska (in some places, daytime can last for weeks) might be able to get around these tint laws.

If you spend most of your day in your car, you might be able to get darker tints because of a medical reason.

Can You Get Pulled Over for Tint in Alaska?

Yes. Like police everywhere else, Alaskan police have the right to stop drivers whose tints look darker than the law allows.

The officer will test the VLT of your tints after pulling you over, and if they are too dark, you will have to pay a fine.

Wrap Up

Alaska is a great state with a lot of beautiful wilderness and roads.

You don’t want to ruin your time there by getting fined for something you didn’t do.

If you follow the rules, you’ll have a private vehicle that is legal and looks cool.