Updated at: 09-06-2022 - By: Lucas

Arkansas’ laws about window tinting went into effect in 1993, but they only apply to window tint film that is put on after the fact.

These laws don’t apply to auto glass that has been tinted at the factory.

Tinted car windows are useful because they cut down on glare, block out UV rays, and keep the inside of the car cool.

There are many good reasons to tint your car windows, but Arkansas state police say that very dark windows can make it hard for drivers to see people, road signs, and other cars, especially at night.

Because of this, tinted windows can be dangerous in traffic.

Can you get pulled over in Arkansas for tint? is a valid question no matter where you drive.

Most of the time, the answer is yes. There is more information below.

Parameters of Window Tint Laws

Arkansas Window Tint Laws

Arkansas has its own rules about how dark car window tint can be, and enforcement can be different in different cities or counties.

Keep in mind that Arkansas tint laws can change at any time, so it’s a good idea to check with your local DMV or law enforcement to find out what the rules are right now.

Arkansas has different rules for passenger vehicles and vehicles that can be used for more than one thing.

It is measured by how much visible light gets through (VLT).

Tinting Regulations for Passenger Vehicles in Arkansas

The amount of visible light that gets through the glass and tint film is used to figure out VLT.

The VLT lets more light through the more it goes up.

Therefore, 100 percent VLT equals transparent, 0 percent VLT equals opaque.

When the VLT of a window tint is 75%, this means that 75% of the light will pass through the film and glass.

A window tint VLT of 25% means that only 25% of light will pass through, and it looks much darker than a window tint VLT of 75%.

In Arkansas, the following is the legal limit for passenger vehicles, which includes SUV crossovers but not trucks, SUVs, or vans:

Only the first five inches of the front windshield can have a tint that doesn’t reflect light.

On the front passenger side windows, the tint can’t be more than 25% (VLT 75%).

On the rear passenger side windows, you can only tint them up to 25% (VLT 75%).

On the back windshields, you can tint them up to 10% (VLT 90%).

Tinting Regulations for Multi-Purpose Vehicles in Arkansas

New Jersey Window Tint Law

In Arkansas, the legal limit for trucks, SUVs, and vans that can be used for more than one thing is:

Front windshields can only have a non-reflective tint put on the top 5 inches.

On the front passenger side windows, the tint can’t be more than 25% (VLT 75%).

On the rear passenger side windows, you can only tint them up to 10% (VLT 90%).

On the back windshields, you can tint them up to 10% (VLT 90%).

Other Arkansas Window Tint Rules and Regulations

Arkansas has more rules about window tints than just the VLT rules. These rules include what is required, what is allowed, and what is not allowed.

Before you decide to put window tints on your car, you should read the following statements carefully.

If the back window of your car is tinted, you have to have two side mirrors.

Arkansas has no rules about what tint colours can be used. There are no wrong colours for window tint.

The company that makes window tint film that is sold in Arkansas does not have to get it certified.

As of August 13, 2013, any company that tints a car’s windows after the fact must put a sticker between the glass and the tint film on the front windshield to the driver’s left. The installer’s name and phone number must be on the sticker, and it must say that the tinting meets Arkansas state law.

Specialized window tints can be used for medical reasons in Arkansas, as shown below.

Medical Exemptions to Window Tint Laws in Arkansas

Arkansas has a law that says people who need to tint their windows for medical reasons can get out of following the law.

To get a waiver, you must fill out a waiver request form.

To be exempt, you must show a letter signed by a licenced doctor that says you need non-standard window tinting for health reasons.

When you get an exemption, it’s good for three years from the date you got it, and you have to keep the certificate with you at all times while driving.

In Arkansas, if you have a medical exemption, you can tint your car windows up to the following limits:

Front windshields can have a tint of up to 50% (VLT 50%).

Up to 20% tint on the front and back passenger side windows (VLT 80%).

Back windshields can have up to 10% tint (VLT 90%).

Can You Get Pulled Over for Tint in Arkansas?

According to Section 27-37-306 of Title 27: Transportation of the Arkansas Code, police can stop a car if it looks like or is thought to have illegally tinted windows.

Devices that check the level of window tint are built into police cars.

In the state of Arkansas, it is a Class B misdemeanour to drive with illegally tinted windows or to put them in. You could be fined up to $1,000 or put in jail for up to 90 days.

In the state of Arkansas, you can put your own window tint film on.

You must make sure that the window film you buy meets the state law requirements for allowable VLT and comes with a statement from the manufacturer about how dark it is or how well it reflects light.