Updated at: 05-06-2022 - By: Lucas

Each state has its own rules about window tinting.

Drivers must follow the laws about tint or face fines and points.

If your windows are too dark or shiny, the highway patrol can pull you over.

Knowing how much you can tint your windows can make road trips and driving on the highway less stressful.

Mirrored or reflective window tint is not allowed in Colorado.

How dark the windows are can depend on how well you can see the driver.

If a highway patrol officer can’t tell who is driving your car, they might tell you to pull over to the side of the road.

Can You Get Pulled Over for Tint in Colorado?

colorado window tint laws-1

For tints to be allowed in the state of Colorado, they have to be very specific.

So, the question about tinted windows is, can you get pulled over in Colorado for tint?

If the tint doesn’t follow the rules, the answer is yes.

Whether or not you get pulled over depends on how dark your windows are.

The darker the tint, the more likely it is that people will look at you when they shouldn’t.

Visible Light Transmission

Visible Light Transmission percent (VLT percent) is a way to measure how darkly your windows are tinted.

This number shows how much light can be seen through the glass and film of a car window.

More light comes through the window when the percentage is higher.

Lower percentages look darker, while higher percentages look more like clear window glass.

For example, if your window lets in 90% of visible light, it means that 90% of the light that can be seen can pass through it.

If only 10% of visible light can get through, only a small amount of visible light can get through.

Colorado Regulations

colorado window tint laws-3

In Colorado, there are two different ways to tint the windows of a car.

First Option

Only the top four inches of the windshield can have tint that doesn’t reflect light.

The two side windows in the front of the car can be tinted as long as the VLT doesn’t go over 27%.

You can tint the back side windows as long as they don’t go over 27 percent VLT.

You can tint the back window as long as it doesn’t go over 27 percent VLT.

Second Option

Only the top four inches of the windshield can have tint that doesn’t reflect light.

If the back windows let in less than 27 percent VLT, you can’t tint the two side windows in the front.

If the front side windows are not tinted, the back side windows can be tinted at any percentage.

If the front side windows are not tinted, any amount of tint can be put on the back window.

If your back window is tinted, you need two side mirrors so you can see better while driving.

If your mirrors or back window are not tinted, you will be pulled over and given a fine.

Out of State Registered Vehicles

Vehicles that are driven in Colorado but are registered somewhere else must have at least 20% VLT in every window except the windshield.

You should know that 20 percent is just a little bit darker than the 27 percent that is allowed for vehicles registered in Colorado.

If you follow Colorado’s laws and rules, you don’t need a sticker to show that the tint is legal.

The tints that are legal for cars in Colorado aren’t that different from those in other states, so you don’t have to prove that your windows are legal while you’re driving.

Unpermitted Tints

Metallic or mirrored tinting is never allowed on car windows in Colorado, no matter what the VLT percentage is.

Metallic and mirrored tints make it hard to see the driver of a car and can make it hard for other drivers to share the road safely.

Tinting that is red or yellow is also not allowed.

Why Does Tinting Matter?

When you tint your windows, it can be hard to see who is driving.

Also, not being able to see the driver leads to more practical problems.

Too dark of a tint can make it hard to see, especially at night when you’re driving.

You shouldn’t drive if you can’t see where you’re going.

Dark tints can make it hard for other drivers or people on foot to see you.

When you’re driving through an intersection, it can be hard for people who aren’t with you to tell how you’ll act if a person walks in front of you.

Because of this, accidents can happen.

If you get into an accident, a dark tint could make it hard for the police or EMTs to figure out how you are doing.

There’s no way for them to know if you’re hurt badly.

Tints can also make it harder for police to do their jobs.

If your car looks like that of a suspect, the police might stop you and ask you questions, especially if they can’t see who is driving.


If you don’t follow the laws and rules about window tints in Colorado, you could get a Class B traffic ticket.

Misdemeanors can also lead to fines. Fines for tinting without a permit range from $500 to $5,000.


If your windows are tinted the right way, you shouldn’t need to be pulled over.

Your car can have one of two kinds of tint in Colorado.

When all the windows, except for the windshield, can be tinted to a certain level, the darkness is more even.

The other one lets you tint the windows much darker, but you can’t tint the front side windows.

As long as you carefully follow these rules, you shouldn’t have any trouble with your car or the highway patrol.