Window tinting restrictions have been in place in Delaware since 1992. There is no tint darkness limit on the rear windshield and rear passenger side windows in Delaware, unlike many other states. You must, however, adhere to a set of guidelines.
- At What Percentage Should You Change Your Oil In Your Car Updated 12/2023
- How To Check Brake Pads Without Removing Wheel Updated 12/2023
- What Can Happen If You Have A Bad Wheel Bearing Updated 12/2023
- New York Window Tint Laws That You Need Know Updated 12/2023
- The Laundry Detergent That Turns Gas Into Clean Water and Power Updated 12/2023
If you live in Delaware, you’ll want to know about the state’s window tinting regulations. If you have a medical condition that necessitates the tint, I’ll explain how to obtain a medical exemption.
Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Delaware?
Only the top five inches of your windshield are allowed to have a reflecting tint. The state of Delaware does not permit the installation of window tint applied by third parties to passenger vehicles.
In Delaware, there is no restriction on the color of the window tints. When it comes to your car’s passenger and back windows, they shouldn’t be metallic or mirror-like. You should have dual side mirrors if your back window is tinted.
What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In DE?
In Delaware, there are no restrictions on the tinting of the rear and side windows. Passenger windows, on the other hand, on both sedans and SUVs, should not be tinted. The top five inches of your windshield can be tinted so that it is not reflective.
Is 20 Tint Illegal In DE?
Tint may be applied to both the rear and side windows, allowing you to choose any level of darkness. You should only apply a factory-installed window tint that exceeds 70% VLT on your front side window.
Delaware does not allow metallic or mirrored window tints, however 20 tint is permissible for the backside and rear windows. In Delaware, there are no restrictions on the color of the window tint you can use on your car.
Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Delaware?
In Delaware, law enforcement officers have the right to stop your car if they see tinted windows. You may be hauled up if you don’t adhere to the window tinting laws, especially on your windshield.
In spite of the fact that film producers are not compelled to certify their films, you must have a certified sticker on your car. Using this sticker, you can verify that your vehicle’s window tint is lawful. Stick it on the driver’s side window.
How Much Is A Tint Ticket In DE?
You may be pulled over for a law infringement if you don’t have the right tint in your vehicle. Despite the lack of a specific fine amount on the tint ticket, you can be penalized anywhere from $28.75 to $100.
If you want to acquire a medical exemption, you can seek a waiver, but if not, you must follow the tint standards. You can be penalized again if you don’t obey the tint standards.
Window Tint Darkness In Delaware
Passenger and multi-purpose vehicles in Delaware must adhere to the same window tinting regulations. In Delaware, there are no restrictions on the color of the window tint you can use on your car. However, you’ll need a sticker to prove that your tint complies with Delaware’s window tinting rules and regulations.
Only the top five inches of the windshield can be tinted to be non-reflective in any type of vehicle. You can only use a factory-installed tint with a 70% VLT on the front passenger’s windows.
For Passenger Vehicles
The top five inches of the windscreen might have a non-reflective tint. The tint on your rear windshield can be as dark or as light as you choose.
Passenger Window Tint: Only use factory-installed tint with a 70 percent VLT for your passenger window tint.
Although there are no restrictions on the tint darkness for back windows, you must have two sets of side mirrors in order to tint them.
The rear windows can be tinted in any shade. The color of the window tint is likewise unrestricted.
For Multi-purpose Vehicles Or MPV
The top five inches of the windscreen might have a non-reflective tint. Your back window can be tinted in any shade.
You must not use any aftermarket tint on your passenger windows, and only use factory-installed 70-percent VLT tint.
Dual Side Mirrors: If you use tint on your back windows, you must have dual side mirrors. There is no tint darkness restriction for multi-purpose vehicles.
For multi-purpose vehicles, there is no limit on the tint darkness of the rear side window.
Window Tint Reflection In Delaware
Delaware only restricts window tinting on the windshield and the front passenger window, unlike other states. Top five inches of your windshield can only have non-reflective tinting.
For Passenger Vehicles
Tinting films can include metallic features to reflect incoming light and dissipate the glare and heat generated by visible light.
Fortunately, there is no limit on how reflective window tinting can be on the front or rear panes. Even yet, the amount of reflection is strictly regulated.
For Multi-purpose Vehicles Or MPV
It’s the same rule for autos that can be used for several different things at once. Reflectivity must be controlled for both front and rear windows, regardless of whether a law is in place.
How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Delaware?
A medical exemption to the Delaware window tint law is available if you suffer from a medical condition that necessitates a deeper tint. Fill out the MV495 form and submit it for approval if you need the medical exemption.
You need to fill out this form in order to receive a medical exemption. However, you can no longer submit the form online at this time. You can only get this waiver at your local DMV office.
Request this paperwork from your facility to get your window tint canceled. However, you should be aware that any past infractions from your window tint before you received the medical waiver will still be assessed against you in the form of a penalty.
The 70 percent VLT window tint should also be put in your vehicle’s passenger-side windows at the time of manufacture. Passenger and multi-purpose vehicles have the same window tinting standards.
Medical exemptions for Delaware’s window tint legislation can be requested using the MV495 form, which you can receive from your local DMV facility if you need one.