If you’re dreading the sweltering summer heat, tinting your car’s windows may be a pleasant relief. Even though tinting windows is permitted in most states, such as New York, there are specific guidelines and restrictions.
We’ll go through these rules and constraints in great depth in this essay.
Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windows And Windshield In New York?
Yes, in the strictest sense, tinted windows and windshields are legal in the city of New York. If you want to tint your windows for aesthetic reasons, you can do so.
New York, like every other state, has its own set of rules and restrictions regarding how much light can pass through tinted windows and windshields.
VLT, or Visible Light Transmission, is the proportion of light that can pass through a material. The more visible light that can flow through tinted glass or film, the higher the VLT.
With a tint of 80 percent VLT, for example, roughly 80 percent of the light will travel through your windows, making it a reasonably light tint.
What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In NY?
Window-to-window, the percentage of tint you can put on your car in New York varies greatly. There is no limit to how black you can make the windows in the back of your car.
Tinting on the front side windows and the windshield, on the other hand, is limited to a particular amount. In the sections that follow, we’ll go through these restrictions in more detail.
Is 20% Tint Illegal In NY?
Whether or not this applies to a particular window is debatable. If you’re referring to your car’s back windows and windshield, a 20% tint is permitted.
The state of New York, however, does not allow a 20% tint on the front side windows or the windshield.
Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In New York?
In New York, tinted windows might result in a traffic stop. Tint meters are commonly carried by New York City police officers in order to detect automobiles having tinted windows or films.
Anytime you cross one, you run the risk of being stopped and questioned about it. As a result, I would advise you to strictly adhere to the regulations regulating window tinting. If you don’t comply, you could face severe fines.
How Much Is A Tint Ticket In NY?
A fine of $80 per illegally tinted window will be imposed if a New York law enforcement agent uncovers your violation of the tinting restrictions.
On top of that, there’s the potential for a 30-day jail term. Despite the fact that not all states in the United States have criminal penalties for breaking tint rules, it is reasonable to assume that New York State is amongst the hardest in the country when it comes to enforcing them.
Window Tint Darkness In New York
The percentage of VLT you must consider when tinting your windows is regulated by law in every state, including New York. In 1991, these rules were initially implemented. When these limits were first implemented, New York was one of the first states to do so.
In 2017, we modified and reformed these laws and regulations as well. As more and more cars appear to have tinted windows or films, these laws are being examined and changed on a regular basis.
Check out New York City’s car-tinting rules here:
For Passenger Vehicles
A tinted glass or film with a VLT of more than 70% is permitted for the windshield. Any degree of blackness can be applied to the windshield’s upper six inches. Only non-reflective tints are permitted for this.
If the VLT is above 70%, you can tint the front side windows.
If the VLT is greater than 70%, you can tint the back side windows of your vehicle.
The degree of darkness that can be tinted into a passenger car’s rear window is unrestricted. When using dual-exterior rearview mirrors, you’ll need to ensure that the tint is correct.
For MPVs (Multipurpose Vehicles)
A tinted glass or film with a VLT of more than 70% is permitted for the windshield. In the upper six inches of the windshield, you can tint it with any shade of dark. If the hue is non-reflective, this is permitted.
A VLT of more than 70% is required to tint the front side windows of your multifunctional vehicle.
The back windows can be tinted to any degree of darkness you desire.
The rear glass can be tinted to any degree of darkness you desire.
Window Tint Reflection In New York
A common misunderstanding among drivers is why others opt to tint their windows in addition to adding reflective glass or film. Adding reflective characteristics to your tint can help keep your vehicle cool and block out the light, making it more efficient.
No matter what kind of car you drive, adding a reflection to your vehicle’s windows is illegal in New York. It is imperative that you pay close attention to these guidelines in order to avoid being penalized by law enforcement officials.
For Passenger Vehicle
Reflective, metallic film on the front windows is prohibited.
The use of any reflecting, metallic glass or film on the backside windows is strictly prohibited.
For MPVs (Multipurpose Vehicles)
Any shiny or reflective glass or coating on the front side windows is prohibited.
Metallized or reflecting glass is not allowed on the back windows.
How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In New York?
New York, like most states in the United States, allows persons with specific medical problems to tint their windows above the allowed level. Among these illnesses are xeroderma, photosensitivity induced by medications, porphyria, and many other types of skin disease.
Overall, New York is a rather lenient state when it comes to window tinting, save from the possibility of a prison sentence. You’ll need to be aware of a few rules, although they aren’t as stringent as those in some other U.S. states when it comes to tinting.