In 1996, Alabama became one of the first states to enact window tinting legislation, making it one of the younger states to do so. The state’s laws on window tinting, on the other hand, are clearly written out to dispel any lingering questions.
The VLT percent standard is used by states across the country to set their window tinting regulations, including Alabama. Light can enter your vehicle through the Visible Light Transmission (VLT) %.
As a result, it follows that it also helps control the quantity of heat that enters your vehicle. Passenger cars and SUVs have different percentage restrictions, which I’ll go over in depth in the next sections.
Are You Allowed To Tint Your Windows And Windshield In Alabama?
In the state of Alabama, tinted windows and windshields are completely legal.
Although there are limits to this, Alabama has severe limits on the amount of window tinting you can apply to your vehicle.
These restrictions, however, are more lenient than those in place in other parts of the country. The state’s tinting regulations are simple to follow, and the majority of motorists do as well.
What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In AL?
The type of vehicle you drive determines how dark of a tint you can legally get in Alabama.
Drivers of passenger vehicles (PVs) in the state are subject to harsher tinting restrictions than those who drive multi-purpose vehicles (MPVs).
Generally speaking, the law allows you to have any degree of tint on the back-side and rear windows of MPVs in accordance with state regulations. All windows in a passenger car can only have a maximum tint darkness of 78 percent.
Is 20 Tint Illegal In AL?
No, in the state of Alabama, a 20-tinted window on an SUV or MPV is not illegal. However, in terms of passenger vehicles, a 20-tinted window is strictly forbidden.
The tint on the front and rear windows of a passenger car cannot be darker than 32 percent, according to state law. MPVs’ front-side windows are no different.
Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Alabama?
If you’re caught tinting your windows in violation of Alabama law, you’ll be ticketed. If you have tinted windows in the state, you may not get pulled over every time you pass a police officer, but there is a chance of it happening.
As a general rule, cops in Alabama will only pull you over if they believe you’ve exceeded the state’s regulations on the use of reflective or window tinting. Portable gadgets allow them to measure the amount of tint on the windows of your car.
How Much Is A Tint Ticket In AL?
When it comes to collecting window tinting fines, Alabama is one of the more forgiving states in the country. In Alabama, the maximum penalties for breaking the state’s window tinting laws is $100.
As a first-time offender, you may be sentenced to 10 days in prison for this offense. As a matter of fact, this is an extremely uncommon occurrence.
Window Tint Darkness In Alabama
Window tinting limits for passenger cars and MPVs in the state of Alabama are the same as those in other states. VLT percentage is used to define these limits.
Window tinting limits for both passenger vehicles and MPVs in the state of Alabama will be examined here.
For Passenger Vehicles
Non-reflective material can be used on the upper portion of the windshield.
It is possible to tint the front side windows up to 68%.
The rear windows can be tinted up to a maximum of 68%.
A 68 percent tint is allowed on the rear window.
For Multi-Purpose Vehicles (MPVs)
On the upper area of the windshield, you may use any non-reflective material.
A maximum tint of 68 percent is allowed for the front-side windows.
It is possible to tint the back-side windows of the vehicle in any shade.
It is possible to tint the rear window with any degree of darkness.
Window Tint Reflection In Alabama
A number of states allow vehicle owners to utilize reflective surfaces on their windows in order to limit the amount of light and heat that enters their car.
Reflective tint regulations vary depending on the make and model of your car, just like window tint.
Let’s have a look at the parameters of the same.
For Passenger Vehicles
20 percent reflection is possible in the front-side windows.
Reflection of up to 20% is possible in the windows on the other side.
For Multi-Purpose Vehicles (MPVs)
Reflection might be up to 20% on the front-side windows.
Reflection can be up to 20% on the backside windows.
How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Alabama?
The state of Alabama requires a letter of exemption from a licensed doctor before you can receive additional window tinting than what’s allowed. If you have light-sensitive porphyria or other comparable diseases, you may be eligible for an exemption.
To prevent getting in trouble with the law, always have your registration card on hand when driving your car.
The basic guidelines and regulations for window tinting in the state of Alabama have been laid out here. If you don’t abide by these rules, you could find yourself in problems with the local authorities.
In this state, you must do your homework before you proceed with tinting your windows. It’s better to be safe than sorry in this case, so I urge you to abide by the rules set forth by the government.
In order to follow the state’s aforementioned legislation, I have provided you with all the information you need. Now all you have to do is carefully review the instructions and follow them to the letter.
To be sure, owning a car or cars should be a pleasurable experience, not a source of stress and worry.