Is 20% Tint Legal In Florida? Update 05/2022

Is 20% Tint Legal In Florida -2

The laws governing whether or not you can tint your windows and how much you can tint them should be familiar to everyone who has recently acquired a vehicle.

We strongly urge that you carefully review the tint laws in the state of Florida before applying any tint to your windows.

You’ll be able to avoid a run-in with the law and a costly fine this way. I’ll walk you through the ins and outs of Florida’s tint regulations in the sections that follow.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Florida?

Is 20% Tint Legal In Florida -1

Considering how hot and bright Florida is, it’s no wonder that the state’s officials allow window tinting, at least to some extent. In Florida, you can tint your windshield up to the AS-1 line, but not below it.

Anything less than that is prohibited and may result in legal repercussions. Because of the state’s high level of sunshine, Florida has less restrictions on the amount of tint that can be applied to windows than other states.

This long response will be shortened to say that in Florida, you are permitted to tint your windshield and glass.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In FL?

Front and rear window tinting in Florida is strictly regulated by state law. A tint on the front of a car in Florida must allow more than 28% of light to pass through.

The specified minimum limit for the back is 15%. For passenger automobiles, however, this is the case. Rear windows in buses, vans, and other large passenger vehicles can be up to an inch thicker. Only 6% of light can travel through their back windows, which are allowed to be tinted.

Is 20% Tint Illegal In FL?

In Florida, a 20% tint on the front of your vehicle is deemed prohibited. For the back of your passenger vehicle, you can have a tint as low as 15%. The maximum percentage for an MPV is 6%.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Florida?

If you’re driving through Florida and notice that your windows are tinted, you’ll likely get stopped. There are times when an officer feels they cannot see well inside your vehicle. This is a safety measure.

However, it doesn’t mean that every time you drive by a cop with tinted windows, you’ll be pulled up. Some questionable conduct and tinted windows could lead to an officer stopping your vehicle.

Light meters are commonly carried by police officers. You won’t have to worry about getting pulled over if you’re within the tinting limitations if you have a device like this.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In FL?

In Florida, a tint ticket can cost you up to $116. Even if you can get a ticket for any window that exceeds the legal tint level, an officer has the option to do so.

You may be able to avoid paying the fine if you can show that you’ve made the necessary changes to your tint before your hearing date.

Window Tint Darkness In Florida

In this part, we’ll go through the legal restrictions for tinting your windows in Florida. Visible Light Transmission Percentage (VLT) is used to quantify the tint’s darkness.

This proportion determines how much light may enter your vehicle through the windows. Tinting windows in passenger and multi-purpose cars will be discussed in detail below.

For Passenger Vehicles

It is possible to have a non-reflective tint on your car’s windshield that is only slightly above or below your vehicle’s AS-1 line.

A 78 percent tint is allowed on the front side windows.

A maximum tint of 85% is permitted for the back side windows.

The rear window can be tinted up to 85%.

For MPVs (Multi-Purpose Vehicles)

Non-reflective tints can be applied to windshields that meet or exceed your vehicle’s AS-1 line.

Tint on the Front Side Windows can be up to 78 percent.

The maximum tint for the rear windows is 94 percent.

The maximum tint for the rear window is 94 percent.

Window Tint Reflection In Florida

For tint reflection, Florida is more tolerant than other states, as is the case for the dark tint restriction. This isn’t a surprise, given the state’s recent record-breaking temperatures.

Heat and light can be considerably impeded from entering your car by applying reflective film to your windows. After this, we’ll go over the restrictions on window tint reflection in passenger cars and utility vehicles.

For Passenger Vehicles

Minimum of 25% of light should be reflected by the front side windows of a building

There should be no more than a 35% reflectance of light coming from the back windows.

For MPVs (Multi-Purpose Vehicles)

No more than 25% of light should be reflected by the Front Side Windows.

No more than 35% of light should be reflected back through the backside windows.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Florida?

Drivers with specific medical conditions may be excluded from penalties in Florida. These include skin conditions that can only be exposed to a restricted amount of light, such as lupus.

To avoid being ticketed or punished for your tint, you’ll need a certificate of exemption. With this certificate, you’ll be able to darken your car’s windows from the front to the back.

Conclusion

To sum it up, Florida’s tint restrictions aren’t that onerous, especially in light of the fact that they’re so lax. Nevertheless, I strongly advise you to familiarize yourself with the regulations regarding window tinting so that you do not run afoul of them.

Please see this article for more information on Florida’s window tinting laws and restrictions as a vehicle owner.

Category: Car.