Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Illinois? Update 06/2022

Tinted windows have a lot of benefits, like security, privacy, a longer-lasting car interior, and less severe heat inside the car. Right, it’s pretty cool, too.That’s why the market for car window tinting has always been in high demand and is expected to grow at least 5% over the next few years.Window tint laws didn’t become law until 2009. In 2009, Illinois window tint laws went to court. What does this mean for people who own cars, especially those who like to experiment with different tinting styles?

The state is known for having some of the strictest rules in the United States. These rules can help you drive legally and safely if you know them.Check out this guide to find out how Illinois tint laws apply to all types of cars, as well as the possible exemptions you might be able to get.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Illinois?

Installing tinted windshields and windows is completely legal in the country where it’s being done. But there are some rules. Yes, it is a great way to keep harmful heat and light from getting into your home. But on the other hand, it can make it hard to see, especially at night.

Tinted glass on the front of the car should not be more than 6 inches high. It is true for both sedans and sports utility vehicles. Tinting the back window of a sedan can only be done for up to 35%.While there are no rules for SUVs, there are for cars. Go as dark or light as you want. People also have different windows on the front, side, and back of their cars.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In IL?

Illinois Tint Laws - 2022 Updated - Car Tinting Laws

State-by-state, the amount of visible light that can pass through a window tint is measured in terms of its VLT percentage. Light can pass through window glass and film. It works out how much light can get through. Higher VLT percent lets more light in, and lower VLT percent lets less light in, so that’s how it works.

On the other hand, in Illinois, the darkest tint anyone can get on their car would be 35% dark. For your backside and rear window, though, you can go down a little bit (vans, trucks, buses, and SUVs only).

Is 20% Tint Illegal In IL?

The VLT of 20% tint is not illegal in the state of Illinois, but it’s not a good idea. The rear window and back door windows of any MPVs can only be used for this, though. You can stay with the legal 35% or go even darker, up to 5%.Other than the darkness of the window tint, there are other rules you should pay attention to. You don’t need a sticker or a certificate, and you don’t need to specify a tint color. Vehicles with tinted back windows need two side mirrors to make them look cleaner on the road.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Illinois?

As soon as you get on the road, you can ask for a stopover to check the VLT percentage. They use a tint meter to get an accurate measurement. People can stop your car and give you a ticket if it isn’t the right amount.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In IL?

Every year, there seems to be a never-ending list of people who own cars and get tickets. They could be new to the area and not know about the window tint laws, or they could just be stubborn.A ticket in Illinois is usually not very serious, and it might only cost you a small amount of money.

Anywhere from $50 to $500 is the range for the first penalties. You need to get it done as soon as possible to avoid having to pay extra money. if you keep breaking the law, you will have to pay $100 to $500 each time.

Car Tinting: Illinois Tint Laws in 2021

Window Tint Darkness In Illinois

Passenger cars are those types of cars that are used to get people from one place to another on a daily basis, like sedans, hardtops, and coupes.Multi-purpose vehicles are known as big, heavy machines that can carry a lot of people and move things (such as vans or pickups).

For Passenger Vehicle

  • Some of the windshield is not reflective, but only for about six inches of it
  • FRONT SIDE WINDOW – should let in more than 35% of the light
  • More than a third of the light should come in through these windows on the back.
  • The rear window should let in more than 35% of the light.

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

  • Some of the windshield is not reflective, but only for about six inches of it
  • FRONT SIDE WINDOW – should let in more than 35% of the light
  • The back side of the windows can have any tint darkness you want.
  • All shades of dark are OK for the back window. You can use any tint.

Window Tint Reflection In Illinois

The purpose of tint reflection is to cut down on heat and glare, as well as to reflect light that is coming in. While there isn’t any solid evidence about this, reflective metallic crumbles can be found in the lens of a sunglass. Tinting films often have these reflective metallic crumbles in them.

Illinois Tint Law | Chicago Personal Injury Attorney | Curcio Law Offices

For Passenger Vehicle

  • Front Side Window – non-reflective, with no mirrored or metallic look to the glass.
  • There are no mirrors or metallic appearances on the back side of this window.

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

  • Front Side Window – non-reflective, with no mirrored or metallic look to the glass.
  • There are no mirrors or metallic appearances on the back side of this window.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Illinois?

In some cases, people who are sensitive to light, have porphyria, or have xeroderma pigmentosum may be able to choose the VLT percentage that is best for them. So far, this is the only medical exemption that Illinois will let you use.To apply, you need to get a letter or record from a doctor who is certified by the government to show that you have albinism, lupus, or other qualifying conditions. Keep the statement in your car at all times, just in case a police officer asks for it.If someone else is driving your car, what would you do if they did that? It’s not a big deal, though. The proof of copy should also be there.

Window Tint Medical Exemptions & Waivers - Car Tinting Laws

Conclusion

First, be sure to check Illinois window tint laws to make sure you don’t end up paying more money than you had planned. Except for the rear and backside windows of multi-purpose vehicles. Tint darkening should not go below 35% visible light transmission, except for those windows.The law lets people who have a medical condition that causes them to be in the sun off. Though, there are rules to follow. You can talk to a good lawyer or the police in your area to find out more about your driving rights and legal options.

Category: Car.