Is 20 Tint Legal In Illinois Update 05/2022

Is 20 Tint Legal In Illinois-2

Tinted windows offer a variety of advantages, including enhanced security, privacy, and the preservation of the inside of the vehicle. Isn’t it beautiful, too?

Since auto window tinting is in such high demand, it is expected to grow by at least 5% over the next few years.

In 2009, Illinois’ window tinting rules were passed by the state’s courts. What does this mean for car owners, especially those who enjoy experimenting with different tinting styles?

Some of the harshest regulations in the United States can be found here. Legal and safe driving can be ensured if you are aware of these rules.

Learn more about Illinois’s tint rules and the exemptions you may be eligible for by reading this guide. Illinois tint laws apply to all types of automobiles.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Illinois?

Is 20 Tint Legal In Illinois-1

The United States has no problem with people installing tinted windows and windshields on their cars. There are, however, limitations. Yes, it’s a great technique to keep out the harmful effects of both heat and light. A downside to this is that it can block your vision, particularly at night.

In the front, the amount of tint on the windshield should not exceed six inches. Sedans and SUVs alike can benefit from this rule. The rear window of a sedan can be tinted to a maximum of 35 percent.

SUVs, on the other hand, are not constrained by any rules. There’s no limit to what you may do with your hair color. The windows on the front, sides, and back are all different.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In IL?

For window tint, the visible light transmission (VLT) % is used, as it is in other states. It calculates the amount of light that can flow through the window glass and the film. Higher VLT percentages let more light in, whereas lower VLT percentages allow less light in.

If you’re in Illinois, your only option for a dark window tint is a 35 percent one. However, you can lower your backside and rear window to a lower setting (vans, trucks, buses, and SUVs only).

Is 20% Tint Illegal In IL?

The state of Illinois does not outright prohibit the use of 20% tinted windows. However, as previously stated, only the rear and back door windows of MPVs are allowed to employ this. Alternatively, you can go even darker, up to 5% darker, than the authorized 35%.

There are more restrictions in addition to window tint darkness that you should be aware of. Stickers or certifications are not required, nor are certain tint colors. Dual side mirrors are required for vehicles with tinted back windows in order to maintain a clean appearance on the road.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Illinois?

If a police officer suspects that your vehicle’s windows have dark tinting, you can request a stop and have the VLT percentage checked. To get an exact reading, they use a tint meter. They can pull you over and issue you a ticket if it’s not the correct amount.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In IL?

There seems to be a never-ending list of people who have been ticketed for driving without a valid license. They could be new to the area and not aware of the window tinting restrictions, or they could just be a hardened criminal.

Although receiving a ticket in Illinois is usually a minor crime, it can still cost you a modest amount of money in fines.

Penalties for first offenses can range from $50 to $500. To avoid paying an additional sum, you must settle it as quickly as feasible. Repeated infractions will cost you between $100 and $500, depending on the severity of the offense.

Window Tint Darkness In Illinois

Passenger automobiles, such as sedans, hardtops, and coupes, are meant to transport people from one location to another on a regular basis.

Heavy machinery, multi-purpose vehicles (MPVs) transport a large number of people as well as cargo (such as vans or pickups).

For Passenger Vehicle

The top six inches of the windscreen are non-reflective.

Allowing more than a third of the light through the front side windows is ideal.

More light should be allowed in through the back windows than through the front ones.

The rear window should be able to let in more light than 35% of the time.

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

The top six inches of the windshield should be non-reflective.

Allowing more than a third of the light through the front side windows is ideal.

Any degree of blackness is acceptable for the tint on the rear windows.

A dark tint on the back window is fine.

Window Tint Reflection In Illinois

In addition to reducing heat and glare, tint reflection serves as a means of reflecting incoming light. Tinting films typically contain shiny metallic crumbles that you can discover in the lens of a sunglass, however there is no definitive proof of this.

For Passenger Vehicle

There is no reflecting or metallic appearance to the front side window.

Non-reflective, with no mirrored or metallic look on the back side of the window

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

No mirrored or shiny appearance on the Front Side Window.

There is no reflection or metallic glint on the back side window.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Illinois?

Permission to choose your preferred VLT % may be granted if you have any of the following: photosensitivity, porphyria, or xeroderma pigmentum Only medical exemptions are now accepted in Illinois.

To apply, you must obtain a letter or record from a licensed healthcare professional stating that you have albinism, lupus, or other qualifying conditions. Be prepared to show the statement to a police officer at any time.

What if your car is being driven by someone else? However, this is not a problem. The proof of copy should also be provided.

Conclusion

Consider the Illinois window tint laws before falling in love with the fashionable look of tinted windows. Only the rear and backside windows of multi-purpose cars should be tinted darker than 35 percent visible light transmission.

Sunlight-related medical conditions are exempt from the law’s requirements. There are, however, some conditions that must be met. To discover more about your legal options and driving rights, you should speak to an experienced attorney or law enforcement officials in your area.

Category: Car.