There are many benefits to having tinted windows in your car. For window tinting, each state has its own set of standards and restrictions. Regulations like this can help reduce the number of car accidents on the highway.
In some cases, tinted windows are viewed as obstructing the driver’s field of vision. As a result, I’ve decided to write about the various window tinting laws in Washington state.
Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windows And Windshield In Washington?
In 2011, the state of Washington passed legislation regulating the tinting of automobile windows. Window tinting laws vary from state to state and even within the same state, depending on the type of vehicle.
You should never tint the windshield of your car. On the other hand, the top six inches of the windshield can have a non-reflective window tint applied. Having a window-tint-compliant sticker is another requirement in Washington state.
What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In WA?
In Washington, the darkest tint you can have depends on the make and model of your vehicle. Your window tint should allow at least 24% of the light to enter if you drive a sedan. All of your windows are subject to this regulation.
The back and rear side windows of an SUV or van can be tinted to any desired level of darkness. Nevertheless, you should adhere to the 24 percent tint darkness restriction on your front side windows as well.
Is 20 Tint Illegal In WA?
Yes, if you drive a sedan or passenger car, you can’t have window tint greater than 20 percent. But if you have a vehicle that can be used for both work and play, you can add any tint darkness to the back and rear windows. There is a 24 percent window tinting limit on the front or passenger side windows of both cars.
Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Washington?
It’s quite legal for the cops to pull you over if your windows don’t meet the legal tinting level. If your window tint does not meet the required standards for darkness, the police can conduct a test and issue you with a fine.
How Much Is A Tint Ticket In WA?
First, if the police notice that you’re breaking window tint restrictions, they can check the tint’s darkness to see if it’s too dark. When authorities establish that your window tint is darker than required, you will be issued a $124 penalty.
Window Tint Darkness In Washington
Those who drive sedans or other passenger vehicles must have a window tint that lets in only 24% of the light.
To prove you’re adhering to the state’s regulations, you’ll need a decal or sticker. It is recommended that this sticker be placed between the film and the panel on the driver’s side of the windshield.
For Passenger Vehicles
Front windshield: You are only allowed to tint the top six inches of your windshield. This also applies to any reflecting window tint you install.
You should have a tint on your front side windows that permits at least 24% of the light into your automobile. The hue of the window tint should not be red, gold, yellow, or black at all.
Your back side windows should have a darker tint than your front side windows, allowing at least 24% of the light to pass through. If you want to tint your back windows, you’ll need to have two side mirrors.
Ideally, you should have a window tint that allows at least 24% of the light to pass through your rear window. In Washington, you are not allowed to use mirror-finished cosmetics or spray-on products.
For MPVs (Multipurpose Vehicles)
Window tinting is only allowed on the top six inches of your car’s front windshield; the rest of the windshield must be clear. In order to utilize reflective window tint or reflective finish materials on your windshield, you must first remove any existing tint or finish.
You should have a tint on your front side windows that permits at least 24% of the light into your automobile. Red, gold, yellow, and black tints are ineligible for use.
Any tint darkness can be applied to the backside windows of multi-purpose cars.
If you have a multi-purpose vehicle, you can apply any tint darkness to your rear window.
Window Tint Reflection In Washington
Washington, too, adheres to a tint-reflectiveness standard. No spray-on or mirror-finish products should be used on your car. Adding a reflective window tint to your car is only permitted if the tint is no more than 35% reflecting.
Even if you only apply reflective window tint to the top six inches of your windshield, you are breaking the law. Inquire about the tinting requirements before purchasing a film from a manufacturer.
For Passenger Vehicle
For the front windows, you cannot use a tint that reflects more than 35% of outside light.
You can’t apply a tint that blocks more than 35% of the light coming from the outside on the back side windows.
For MPVs (Multipurpose Vehicles)
The tint on the front side windows cannot reflect more than 35% of the outside light.
Light reflected from the outside can’t be reflected more than 35% back into your vehicle.
How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Washington?
It’s possible to acquire an exemption from the due to a medical condition that necessitates using a deeper tint on your windows. You must always carry a letter from your doctor stating your medical condition in your vehicle.
That’s everything for Washington’s window tinting restrictions, which you must observe if your vehicle is registered there. More than 24 percent of the light can only be let in depending on the sort of car you drive.
A physician’s medical exemption is required if you have a medical condition that necessitates a deeper window tint..