In Arizona, tinting your windows is completely legal. As long as you follow the rules, you’re good to go! In Arizona, there are limits and restrictions on how much you can tint your windows. Those laws have been in place since 1994 at the earliest. If you’re considering tinting your Arizona windows and windshields but aren’t sure what the rules are, this article will provide you with all the information you need. Side windows, rear windows, and other types of windows and windshields have their own set of rules.
Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Arizona?
As far as I can tell, it is a crime in Arizona to tint your entire front windshield. Only for medical reasons can this restriction be broken. You can tint your windows if you need to avoid the sun’s rays because of a medical problem. However, you are permitted to have a visor strip on the windscreen of your vehicle. The purpose of a visor strip is to screen the sun’s rays while not obstructing your field of vision. Even if you have tinted your windows, they must nevertheless allow more than a third of the light inside your vehicle. Both the reflective and non-reflective tints work well on the backside and rear windows.
What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In AZ?
While the state of Arizona requires that your back and side windows have a reflecting tint of around 35 percent, the darkest shade you may have is the limo tint at 5 percent, according to the state’s tinting law.
Is 20 Tint Illegal In AZ?
It all depends on which of your vehicle’s windows you’re referring to. For your driver’s and passenger’s side windows, a 20-tint is perfectly legal.
Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Arizona?
As long as you adhere to Arizona’s tinting laws, you’re unlikely to be pulled up for tinted windows. But if your tint is obstructing your ability to safely operate your vehicle, you may be pulled over. Blurry or smudged tint can jeopardize your safety on the road. Officers use a tint meter to evaluate how dark your car’s tint is. A crimson or orange tinge is also out of the question.
How Much Is A Tint Ticket In AZ?
If you have a tint that is in violation of Arizona’s tinting laws, you may be issued a citation. Getting a ticket means paying a minor fine and providing documentation that the infringement has been removed from your car. A punishment of up to $250 may be levied against you if you fail to comply.
Window Tint Darkness In Arizona
Depending on where you live in Arizona, there may be restrictions on how dark of a tint you can use. Each component of your car’s window or windshield is subject to different restrictions.
For Passenger Vehicles
All of your vehicle’s windows and windshield are covered by different laws. Instead, there are different laws that deal with each of these components. Only non-reflective tint is allowed on the windshield in Arizona. In order to comply with this rule, this tint must not fall below your manufacturer’s AS-1 line or your visor strip; unless you have a medical reason that prevents you from doing so. There should be no less than 33% of light entering your vehicle if you have a front side glass with a 35 percent reflection.
The maximum reflections from your rear windows are the same as those from your front side windows. Even though the darkest tint available is the 5% limo tint, they can be made darker.
For MPV (Multi Purpose Vehicles)
A tint of up to 33% blackness is permissible on the front side windows of multipurpose vehicles. Your backside glass can be tinted to any degree of darkness you like. Your rear window can be tinted to any degree of darkness you like.
Window Tint Reflection In Arizona
Tints are designed to bounce light away from your eyes by incorporating specific materials. The sun’s rays are likewise reduced by this. In Arizona, there are regulations governing the amount of light that can reflect off your window tint.
For Passenger Vehicle
Non-reflective windshield tint should be used for all tinted windshields. Back window: The reflective tint on your back glass can range from 5% to 35%. However, this can’t exceed a limit of 35% reflective tint. The reflective tint on your rear window can range from 5% to 35%. However, this can’t exceed a limit of 35% reflection.
For MPV (Multi Purpose Vehicles)
The front windshield of a vehicle that serves many purposes cannot have a reflecting tint applied to it.
How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Arizona?
For a medical exemption to use window tint in Arizona, you must provide a letter that proves that the tint is necessary for your medical condition. Licensed physicians are required to write and sign this letter. Your doctor will sign and transmit the letter to the Medical Review Program in the Arizona’s Department of Transportation. When you write a letter to the transportation department, make sure to include your vehicle’s registration information. More than one vehicle’s registration information can be included.
In order to receive a medical waiver to use a window tint in Arizona, here are the requirements:
your qualified physician’s letter of recommendation, signed
The registration information for your vehicle. The medical review program requires that you provide your name and license number in every piece of information you transmit to them. The only exception to this is if you want to tint your front windshield.
Vehicle tinting is governed by a variety of legislation. To prevent getting a ticket for this, it is vital to be aware of these laws. Simple rules govern the tints that can be applied to your vehicle’s windows and windshield.