Things can become a little sweltering in Kentucky. As a result, window tints are important to keep your vehicle cool for both you and your passengers.
But how do you do this without breaking the law or getting a ticket?
You’ll learn everything you need to know about Kentucky’s window tinting rules in this article, so you can keep yourself and your passengers safe and comfortable.
Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Kentucky?
Window and windshield tinting is permitted in Kentucky, but only if it falls below the state’s VLT (Visible Light Transmission) regulations. Visible Light Transmission (VLT) is a measure of how much light can pass through your windows and into your home.
Suppose, for example, that you have a percentage-based reference to a window. VLT measurements are what you’re seeing here. In the case of a 20% tint, for example, 20% of the visible light will pass through the tint layer.
What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In KY?
Only the rear and side windows of vans and SUVs can be tinted to an extent of 8% by law.
Is 20 Tint Illegal in KY?
I’m not quite sure what you mean. For example, a VLT of 18% is required for back and rear windows. There could be as many as 20% tints there. You can’t place tints on the front windows since they have to let in 35% of the light.
You can get away with a VLT of 8 percent or less on the rear and back side windows of SUVs and MPVs.
It’s also worth noting that the state of Kentucky does not have any tints outright banned. Window tinting film makers must additionally certify their products for sale in the state.
Ask your dealer if they use certified tint film when you get your tints done.
Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Kentucky?
Your windows may be rolled down if an officer decides your tints are too dark.
Because the state of Kentucky allows such dark hues, it appears to be less of an issue in Kentucky, but as always staying within the legal boundaries is the safest course of action.
How Much Is A Tint Ticket In KY?
I’m not sure exactly how much a Kentucky tint ticket will cost, but it’s not going to be cheap.
A Kentucky woman was fined $140 in adjacent Tennessee in 2015, according to a news report, and I’m sure the number has since changed. If you’d rather avoid the high fines associated with exceeding the legal tinting limitations, you should stick to those restrictions.
Window Tint Darkness In Kentucky
Here, I’ve included information on the darkness of the window tint for a few frequent vehicles on Kentucky’s highways.
Crossover SUVs, hatchbacks, convertibles, sedans and coupes, and minivans are all examples of passenger vehicles.
Multi-purpose vehicles, on the other hand, include full-size SUVs, pickup trucks, and utility vans that are primarily used for transporting and working.
For Passenger Vehicle
Above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line, tinted windshields are allowed.
The windows on the front side of the house must allow at least 35% of the light to pass through.
The windows on the back side must allow at least 18% of the light to get through.
The rear window must allow at least 18% of the light to get through.
For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)
Windshield: Above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line, an unreflective tint is acceptable.
Front-side windows must let in at least 35% of available light.
The windows on the back of the house must allow at least 8% of the light to get through.
The rear window must allow at least 8% of the light to get through.
Window Tint Reflection In Kentucky
Passengers and drivers alike like the style, aesthetics, and added privacy that a reflective window tint gives.
As with a two-way mirror, you can see out of them, but passersby can only see their reflection if they gaze into your windows. If you reside in a place where it gets hot, such as Kentucky, this is a must-have item.
The good news is that vehicle window tinting allow for a certain amount of reflection, so pay attention!
For Passenger Vehicle
Windows on the front: Reflectiveness cannot exceed 25%.
Back Side Windows: Reflection cannot exceed 25%.
For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)
Front Side Windows: There can’t be more than a quarter of the glass reflecting light.
Windows on the back: Reflectiveness cannot exceed 25%.
Reflective tints do look decent, after all. It is important for drivers to keep in mind that sunshine can reflect off these tints and make other drivers uncomfortable.
How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Kentucky?
Unfortunately, medical exemptions for window tinting are not permitted in Kentucky.
Regardless of whether you have a medical condition or not, drivers in the state of Kentucky who choose to tint their windows must post a sticker on the driver’s side doorjamb indicating that this is a permissible choice.
We appreciate your interest in the window tinting regulations in Kentucky. It’s no wonder that you’re searching for window tinting in the Bluegrass state, where the average July temperature is 87 degrees.
As a result, you are free to have them installed at a licensed shop as long as they pledge to stay within the state’s tint restrictions, which are thankfully more lax than they are elsewhere.
As a result, it will give you the privacy and luxury you desire, while also ensuring the safety of other motorists on the road.