Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Kentucky? Update 06/2022

In the Bluegrass State, things can get a bit warm. It’s thus necessary to apply window tints to your vehicle as a means of keeping it cool for your passengers as well as yourself.But how do you do this while staying in the confines of the law and avoiding tickets/violations?

This article will show you all you need to know about Kentucky window tinting laws so you can stay safe and comfortable in your vehicle.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Kentucky?

Yes, you may have window tints and windshield in Kentucky, but you have to be sure you are within the limits of the law and what the state permits in terms of VLT. VLT refers to Visible Light Transmission and is the percentage of visible light that can come in through your windows.

For instance, suppose you have a window being referenced using a percentage. That is a VLT measurement. For instance, a 20 percent tint will permit 20 percent of the visible light in through your tint film.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In KY?

8 percent is the legal limit, and that is only for back side windows and rear windows of vans and SUVs.

Kentucky Tint Laws - 2022 Updated - Car Tinting Laws

Is 20 Tint Illegal in KY?

Not exactly. For example, back side windows and rear windows have to have a VLT of 18 percent . As a result, you may have 20 percent tints there. But, front side windows have to let in 35 percent of light (so you couldn’t put those tints on that window).For SUVs and work vans (MPVs) you can go even darker, as the rear windows and back side windows only need to be 8 percent VLT.

It should also be noted that no colors of tints are strictly banned for the state of Kentucky. You should also know that manufacturers of window tinting film are required to certify film being sold within the state.When you go to get your tints applied, be sure to ask your dealer if they are utilizing certified tint film.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Kentucky?

Yes, you absolutely can be pulled over if law enforcement feels that your tints are too dark.It seems to be less of a problem in Kentucky, presumably due to the state permitting rather dark tints as compared to other states, but as always you are better off remaining in the legal limits to avoid any trouble.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In KY?

I do not have an exact number on what the cost of a tint ticket will run you in Kentucky, but I don’t think it will be cheap.

One story from 2015 noted a Kentucky woman was fined $140 as she shopped in neighboring Tennessee, and I am certain by now that these figures have changed. As a result, it is best to just stay within the legal limits for tints so you don’t have to pay these hefty fines.

Window Tint Darkness In Kentucky

Here I have provided information on window tint darkness for a few different vehicles commonly found on the roads of Kentucky.

There are many types of passenger vehicles, like crossover SUVs, hatchbacks, convertible cars and sedan and coupes, as well as minivans. They are the kind of cars we see all the time.However, multi-purpose vehicles are full-size SUVs, pick-up trucks and utility vans that are mostly used for hauling and work. They are also called “multi-purpose vehicles.”

Kentucky Window Tint Laws 2022 Explained | Window Tint Experts

For Passenger Vehicle

It’s OK for the windshield to have an unreflective tint that goes above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.

Front Side Windows: They must let more than 35% of the light in.

Back Side Windows: They must let more than 18% of the light in.

The rear window must let more than 18% of the light in.

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

It’s OK for the windshield to have an unreflective tint that goes above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.

Front Side Windows: They must let more than 35% of the light in.

Back Side Windows: They must let in more than 8% of the light.

The back window must let more than 8% of the light in.

Window Tint Reflection In Kentucky

Reflective window tint is stylish, looks cool, and gives both passengers and drivers privacy and comfort. It’s good for both drivers and passengers.They are like a two-way mirror: You can see out of them, but people who are outside your car can only see their reflection when they look into your tints. if you live somewhere where it gets hot a lot, like the state of Kentucky, this is very useful.With car window tints, the good news is that you can have a certain amount of reflection. So pay attention!

Kentucky Tint Laws- 2022 New Tint Laws in KY

For Passenger Vehicle

Front Side Windows: They can’t be more than 25% reflective at all.

Back Side Windows: They can’t have more than 25% reflective glass on them.

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

Front Side Windows: They can’t be more than 25% reflective at all.

Back Side Windows: They can’t have more than 25% reflective glass on them.

I agree with that. Reflective tints look good, too, However, drivers have to be careful when they use these tints, because the sunlight can reflect off them and make other drivers feel bad.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Kentucky?

It’s a shame, but the state of Kentucky doesn’t let people who have medical reasons for not having window tints.

You must put a sticker on the doorjamb on the driver’s side of your car to show that tints are legal in Kentucky, even if you have an illness or aren’t sick at all.

How To Get Medical Exemption For Window Tint - All 50 states

Conclusion

Thank you for taking the time to learn about window tinting laws in Kentucky. There isn’t a surprise that you are looking for window tints in the Bluegrass state, where the average summer temperature is 87 degrees in the summer months.As a good thing, the state is more lenient than most when it comes to this aftermarket accessory. You can apply them at a certified shop that promises to stay within the state limits for tints.People who work for law enforcement and other drivers on the road will be safe if you do this.

Category: Car.