Is 20% Tint Illegal In CT? Update 05/2022

legal tint in ct-2

Connecticut’s window tinting regulations were put in place in 1994 and have been carefully enforced ever since. In terms of enacting these legislation, Connecticut is the 24th state.

You’ll be doing yourself a favor if you learn about Connecticut’s tinting laws before purchasing a passenger vehicle or multi-purpose vehicle there.

Those who live in inland Connecticut, where temperatures often skyrocket during the peak summer months, would benefit from this information the most.

We’ll cover all you need to know about window tinting in Connecticut in the following sections.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Connecticut?

legal tint in ct-1

In a nutshell, yes, you can tint your car’s windows and windshield in Connecticut. There are, however, limitations to this as well. When it comes to tinting your windshield, you’re only allowed to go above the AS-1 line.

Window specs differ for both the back and front sides. Passenger cars and multipurpose vehicles have varying window size restrictions. In the sections that follow, we’ll go through each of these in further detail.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In CT?

In Connecticut, the darkest tint you can get on a passenger vehicle is a tint of any color. However, this does not apply to all windows on all types of automobiles.

Only the rear and rear windows of multi-purpose cars can have an unlimited tint. If you’re driving a passenger car, you can only receive a 65 percent tint on the front and rear windows.

Is 20% Tint Illegal In CT?

If you’re referring to automobiles, then sure, a tint of 20% is prohibited. This pertains to your vehicle’s front and back windows. The same rules apply to the glass in your windshield. The rear window of a passenger car may have a tint of up to 20%.

A 20% tint on the front side windows and windshield of multi-purpose cars is forbidden. Vehicles with many uses are allowed to have any kind of back window or rear side window tint they like.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Connecticut?

In the state of Connecticut, police officers have the authority to pull you over for tinted windows. Only if an officer discovers your tint darker than the permitted limit will you be penalized.

In most cases, they have some kind of tool to help them figure just how dark your windows are tinted. Even if they don’t have one, they’re well-versed at judging the darkness of your tint just by looking at it.

When an officer pulls you over, he or she is more than likely assuming that your tint is too dark.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In CT?

On your first infraction, a Connecticut police officer will most likely issue you a warning ticket. If you commit a second infraction, you’ll be hit with a $250 fine or more.

This is significantly greater than in most other states, hence it is highly recommended that you darken your windows to the maximum extent permitted by law.

Window Tint Darkness In Connecticut

VLT or Visible Light Transmission percentage is used to measure the tint darkness of your car’s windows. The amount of visible light that can flow through your windows is largely determined by this proportion.

In Connecticut, like in other states, the permissible VLT percent varies depending on whether the vehicle is a multipurpose vehicle or a passenger vehicle. Instead of the VLT percentage, we’ll look at the tint darkness allowed for both of them.

For Passenger Vehicles

Any non-reflective tint above the AS-1 line can be used on windshields.

a maximum of 65 percent can be tinted on the front-side windows.

The maximum tint for the backside windows is 65 percent.

The rear window can be tinted to any degree.

For MPVs (Multi-Purpose Vehicles)

Any non-reflective tint above the AS-1 line can be used on windshields.

a maximum of 65 percent can be tinted on the front-side windows.

On the Reverse Side Windows can be tinted to any degree.

Tint can be applied to the rear window in any amount.

Window Tint Reflection In Connecticut

The sun’s glare as it passes through your windows can be reduced with tinted film. As a result, your car’s interior will stay cooler. Connecticut is one of the few states that allow drivers to add reflective properties to their window tint.

Let’s take a look at the window tinting limits in Connecticut for passenger and utility vehicles.

For Passenger Vehicles

Windows on the Front Side may have a maximum tint reflection of 21%.

A maximum of 27 percent tint reflection is permitted on the backside of windows.

For MPVs (Multi-Purpose Vehicles)

Windows on the Front Side may have a maximum tint reflection of 21%.

There is a 27 percent limit on the tinting of the back side windows.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Connecticut?

A medical exemption in Connecticut allows you to go from 65% to 80% tint in your car’s windows. If you want your windows to be completely dark, you’ll need a tint that lets in at least 20% of the light.

An auto-immune disease or a light-sensitive skin condition must be proven in order to qualify for the exemption. After that, you’ll receive an exemption certificate from the state.

To avoid receiving a citation from an officer, you must keep this certificate on you at all times.

Conclusion

A final word of advice: If you’re looking for laxer rules on window tinting, consider moving to Connecticut. Even though the penalties for going over the tint limit is steep, there aren’t many instances where a fine has been collected because of window tinting.

To avoid getting into trouble with the law, you’ll need to be aware of the tinting limits for both passenger vehicles and multi-purpose vehicles.

Avoiding a hefty punishment due to your car’s excessively dark tinted windows is as simple as following the rules. You can find out more about Connecticut’s tinting laws here.

Category: Car.