Laws governing the use of car tinting have been on the books in Louisiana for a long time. In Louisiana, you must adhere to a strict set of guidelines if you want to install a tint on your vehicle. Window tinting laws in Louisiana will be covered in this article.
Make sure to keep in mind that the larger the proportion of VLT, the more light can travel through. Window tinting laws vary depending on the make and model of the vehicle. A medical exemption to this law is also possible; further information on that is provided further down this page.
Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Louisiana?
The Louisiana window tint statute has varied rules for different types of vehicles.
For sedans, reflective tinting is limited to the top five inches of the windshield. A minimum of 40% of the light should be let into the front windows, and at least 25% of the light should be allowed into the back windows. 12 percent of light must get through your rear windows.
If you have an SUV or van, you can have a tint on the top five inches of your windshield that is not reflecting. At least 40% of the light should enter via your front windows. For the backside and the rear windows, you can choose any shade of tint you like..
What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In LA?
The darkest possible rear windshield tint for a passenger car is 12 percent VLT. Passenger cars have their own set of rules that must be adhered to.
On the other hand, if you have a multi-purpose car, the back windshield and the rear passenger windows can be tinted to any shade of blackness.
Is 20 Tint Illegal In LA?
Only the rear windshield of a passenger car can have less than a 20-percent tint. A minimum of 12 percent VLT is required on your back windshield. This window must enable at least a quarter (25%) of the light to enter the vehicle.
Multi-purpose vehicles, on the other hand, can have the back windshield and the rear passenger windows tinted to any desired level of darkness. In Louisiana, amber and red hues are banned.
If you’re planning on driving with 20-tinted windows, be aware that it’s prohibited in most states and can cause problems with visibility.
Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Louisiana?
If you don’t adhere to the state’s tint laws, you run the risk of being stopped. Installers in Louisiana must additionally attach a sticker on the driver’s side window to show that the tint is legal there.
You’ll need your medical exemption affidavit if you installed a darker tint for medicinal reasons. In addition, you should display a specific label on your car indicating that you are exempt due to medical reasons.
How Much Is A Tint Ticket In LA?
In Louisiana, a tint ticket can be issued for noncompliance with the state’s window-tinting requirements. You may be pulled over if you don’t have the official certification sticker on your window. The fine for a first-time offender is $150.
A $250 fine can be imposed if you are pulled over for the second time for breaking Louisiana’s window tinting legislation. Third and subsequent breaches can be found for $350, so make sure your dealership is using legal tint.
Car Tint Darkness In Louisiana
Depending on the make and model of your vehicle, you must adhere to varied tinting regulations in Louisiana. The rear or back windshield of a sedan or passenger car can only have a VLT of 12 percent.
Rear passenger side windows and the back windshield of SUVs, vans, and other multi-purpose vehicles have no tint darkness restriction. Red and amber tints are not permitted on all vehicles.
For Passenger Vehicles
The manufacturer’s AS1 or the top five inches of your front windshield can only have a non-reflective tint. A minimum of 12 percent of the light should be able to pass through your back windshield.
At least 40 percent of the light must pass through your vehicle’s front windows.
Back Windows: The back windows of your car should let in at least 25% more light than the front ones. Tinting the windows with red or amber hues is strictly forbidden.
Passenger vehicles should have windows on the rear that allow at least 12 percent of the light to pass through.
For Multi-purpose Vehicles Or MPV
On the top five inches of your front windshield, or above the manufacturer’s AS1, you can have a tint that is not reflective.
For multi-purpose cars, the front windows should be tinted to allow at least 40% of the light to pass through.
For the back windows, there are no restrictions on the tint darkness. The use of any kind of red or amber tint on the vehicle is strictly prohibited.
In terms of tint darkness, there are no restrictions on the back side window’s tint.
Car Tint Reflection In Louisiana
Tinting your vehicle’s windows can help reduce glare and heat buildup while driving. However, in the state of Louisiana, the amount of reflectivity you can put on your car windows is regulated by law.
For Passenger Vehicles
If it’s a sedan, the reflectance of the glass on the front and back must be less than 20 percent.
For Multi-purpose Vehicles Or MPV
Your MPVs’ windows, both the front and back, must have a reflectance of no more than 20 percent.
How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Louisiana?
In Louisiana, medical exemptions are available for the state’s window tinting statute. A medical exemption affidavit can be requested if you suffer from albinism, lupus, porphyria, or photophobia.
With a medical exemption sticker, your spouse or other family members can also drive the car. A medical exception from the window tinting law must be shown on the vehicle with this sticker.
Every three years, all medical exemptions are re-evaluated, and those with criminal records are ineligible. The exception can be found here.
If you want to tint your automobile windows in Louisiana, you have to go by the state’s rules. Sedans and SUVs must have a minimum of 12% VLT, whereas vans must have a minimum of 40% VLT on their front windows.
At all times, amber and red hues are strictly forbidden. Having a sticker on your window certifying that you are adhering to the Louisiana window tint laws is mandatory.