What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In MA? Update 05/2022

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In MA-2

The regulations governing window tinting in cars vary from state to state across the United States. If you’re thinking about tinting your windows for any purpose, it’s a good idea to know what restrictions your state has in place before you get started.

There are a number of restrictions in place in Massachusetts regarding window tint, and we’ll go through how you can receive a medical exemption for tinted windows if you need one.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Massachusetts?

Extra window tinting is legal in Massachusetts, as it is in most other states. It’s important to realize that no two states have exactly the same window tinting laws, so as a Massachusetts resident, you must be aware of the state’s regulations.

Window tinting legislation in Massachusetts will be discussed in this section.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In MA?

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In MA-1

You can only tint your car windows to a VLT percentage of 35 percent or higher, except for the windshield.

Visual light transmission (VLT) is a word that refers to the amount of light that may be transmitted through a window. More light is blocked by a lower percentage of VLT. This implies that just a third of the light coming in is able to penetrate through your window.

With the exception of a thin strip of anti-reflective tint at the very top, tinted windscreens are strictly prohibited. Above your windshield’s AS-1 line, it must be no broader than 6 inches.

Dual side mirrors are required if you wish to tint your back window. It’s worth remembering if you drive an older car that doesn’t have dual side mirrors, though this shouldn’t be an issue for most people.

Is 20% Tint Illegal In MA?

In Massachusetts, any window tint having a VLT of less than 35% is unlawful. In some cases, a medical exemption for this law may allow you to install a deeper tint than what is typically permitted, depending on your medical condition.

Later in this article, we’ll talk about how to receive a medical exemption for window tint.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Massachusetts?

Window tinting that exceeds the legal limit in Massachusetts without a valid medical exemption puts you at risk of a traffic stop in the Bay State.

Tinting your windows lawfully gives you the option of placing a sticker in your windows that certifies that the tint is authorized. While the state of Massachusetts encourages the usage of these stickers, it is not a requirement that you do so.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In MA?

If you’re pulled over and given a ticket for having your windows tinted too darkly, you might be hit with a fine of up to $250 in Massachusetts. Whether your windows are too dark or not may be a factor.

If you’ve been convicted of illegally tinting your windows three or more times, you’ll additionally face a 90-day suspension of your driver’s license.

Window Tint Darkness In Massachusetts

Here, we’ll sum up what we’ve spoken about so far: the maximum VLT for window tint in Massachusetts.

Passenger vehicles and multi-purpose vehicles (MPVs) in Massachusetts are both subject to the same window tinting regulations, but it’s still worthwhile to explain the difference.

Passenger vehicles, such as sedans, coupes, station wagons, convertibles, and hatchbacks, are built primarily for uncomplicated transportation.

Most MPVs are designed for more than just transportation; they can also be used for a variety of other purposes.

Minivans, cargo vans, pickup trucks, and camper vans are all examples of MPVs.

For Passenger Vehicles

Windshields can have a 6′′ wide strip of non-reflective tint above the AS-1 line of the windshield.

There must be a VLT of at least 35% on the front windows

The VLT of the windows on the back must be at least 35%.

There must be no less than a 35% VLT in the rear windows

For MPVs

Windshields can have a 6′′ wide strip of non-reflective tint above the AS-1 line of the windshield.

There must be a VLT of at least 35% on the front windows

The VLT of the windows on the back must be at least 35%.

There must be no less than a 35% VLT in the rear windows

Window Tint Reflection In Massachusetts

Laws governing how reflective your windows can be are also in force in the state of Massachusetts. You can lessen the glare and heat in your car by using reflective windows, but other drivers may find them dangerous.

Windshields and back windows cannot reflect any light, only side windows can.

In contrast to the majority of states, Massachusetts does not have any restrictions on the color of the window tint you use.

For Passenger Vehicles

There should be no more than a third of the light reflected back through the front windows

More than a third of the light reflected by the backside windows should not be reflected.

For MPVs

A maximum of 35% of the light should be reflected by the front side windows.

A maximum of 35% of the light should be reflected by the back windows.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Massachusetts

In the event that you suffer from a medical condition that causes an increased sensitivity to sunlight, you may be eligible to seek a medical exemption for your window tint.

As a first step, you’ll need proof of your medical condition, which can be obtained from a registered physician. The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles will then require this certification and a medical exemption application (RMV).

Only private passenger automobiles are eligible for medical exemptions. Additionally, only the side and rear windows can be tinted beyond the regular regulations; the windshields cannot.

Conclusion

Window tinting rules vary from state to state. When it comes to window tinting in Massachusetts, you should know in advance what the state’s legal restrictions are; this might save you a lot of time and money in the future if you choose to do so.

We hope we’ve been able to answer any questions you may have had about window tinting rules in Massachusetts. If you want to learn more about the rules and regulations governing driving in Massachusetts, we recommend that you visit the Massachusetts RMV website.

Category: Car.