What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In MD? Update 05/2022

legal tint in md-2

The state of Maryland, like every other state, has its own legal regulations for the tinting of automobile windows, which it enforces.

Prior to installing window tint on your vehicle, it is critical that you know what types of tint are legal and which ones aren’t, as this can save both time and money in the long run.

When it comes to window tinting for your car, Maryland has quite a few rules and guidelines to follow.

People who have legitimate medical grounds for tinting their windows beyond the legal limit will also be covered in this course.

Are You Allowed To Have A Tinted Windshield And Windows In Maryland?

legal tint in md-1

If you live in Maryland, you can have a tinted windshield and windows for your vehicle.

Window tinting of a car is, of course, subject to certain rules and regulations.

It’s also worth noting that regulations vary according on the sort of car you drive. Later in this post, we’ll go into greater detail regarding these constraints.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In MD?

It all depends on the sort of vehicle you have and the type of windows you want to tint.

For cars like sedans and coupes, you can’t have any of your windows tinted lower than 35% Visible Light Transmission.

“Visible Light Transmission” is the term used to describe the amount of light that can flow through an automobile window. All visible light must be blocked by the window to a VLT of 35% or higher.

Tint regulations for the backside and the rear windows of MPVs are not in place. For front side windows and windshields, the laws regarding window tinting remain unchanged.

Additionally, only a 35 percent VLT non-reflective tint can be applied to the top of the windshield, preventing it from being entirely tinted. You can’t make this strip any wider than 5 inches, and you can’t make it any longer than AS-1 on the windshield.

Is 20% Tint Illegal In MD?

The type of car you drive, as well as the windows you want to tint, will all go into the decision. In the case of an MPV, there are no restrictions on how dark your tint may be, and you can even install tint with a VLT of 20% or less if you like..

If you wish to tint your windows darker than what is permitted, you’ll need to apply for a medical exception.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Maryland?

In the absence of a valid medical exemption, you run the risk of being penalized for having tinted your windows excessively dark.

Additionally, you’re likely to receive a Safety Equipment Repair Order (SERO), which mandates that you remove your illegal window tint within a specific period of time.

You’ll also need to send a certification to the Maryland state police once you’ve performed the necessary repairs.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In MD?

An unlawfully tinted window ticket costs $50, but failing to show up at a certified inspection station to confirm that you remedied the problem can result in a fine of up to $1000.

Window Tint Darkness In Maryland

When it comes to passenger vehicles and MPVs, most states have the same standards. Maryland is one of the rare states that has varied rules based on the type of vehicle you drive.

Sedans, hatchbacks, station wagons, and coupes are all examples of passenger vehicles, which are referred to as “standard” automobiles. These automobiles are primarily intended for a single person’s use.

Utility vehicles (MPVs) are typically designed for more than just commuting. MPVs include SUVs, pick-up trucks, cargo vans, RVs, and minivans..

I’ll go over the many regulations that apply to both types of cars in this section.

For Passenger Vehicles

An area of non-reflective 35% VLT tint is allowed on windshields, however it cannot be broader than 5′′ or extend below the windshield’s AS-1 line.

The darkest that the front side windows can be tinted is a VLT of 35%.

No darker than 35% VLT can be applied to the back windows

VLT of 35 percent or less is the limit for tinting rear windows.

For MPVs

only 35 percent VLT non-reflective tinting may be applied to a windshield, and it must not extend below the windshield’s AS-1 line by more than 5 inches.

The darkest that the front side windows can be tinted is a VLT of 35%.

The darkness of the tint on the back windows is entirely up to the driver.

Rear window tinting is available in any shade.

Window Tint Reflection In Maryland

In most jurisdictions, window tints are restricted in terms of how reflective they can be and how much light they let to pass through them.

There are no particular restrictions on the amount of light that can be reflected from windows in the state of Maryland; nonetheless, the law states that windows cannot have a mirrored or metallic look in general.

Yellow, red, and amber are prohibited from being used on any vehicle, however other colors can be tinted.

For Passenger Vehicles

Mirrored or metallic windows are not allowed in the front windows.

There can be no reflective or shiny appearance to the glass on the backside.

For MPVs

No reflected or shiny appearance is permitted on the front side windows.

The windows on the back of the house can’t be mirrored or metallic.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Maryland?

There is a medical exemption to window tinting for people with medical conditions that can be badly affected by sunshine.

Medical exemptions require documented verification from a doctor who says you need tinted windows for your car because of your medical condition.

The Maryland DMV will require you to submit a medical exemption application together with your certification after you’ve obtained it.

Only the side and rear windows of your car can be exempted for medical reasons; the windshields cannot be modified in any manner beyond what is required by law.

Conclusion

Even if you live in a place where window tinting is legal, you should be informed of your state’s regulations. Getting into legal trouble for driving around with unlawfully tinted windows is something you should avoid at all costs.

The Maryland Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website has a wealth of extra information for those interested in the state’s automobile legislation.

Category: Car.