What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In Michigan? Update 05/2022

legal tint in michigan-2

With regard to tinting windows, Michigan has a strict set of rules that must be adhered to and enforced thoroughly.

To provide you a clear image of what is expected of you if you own a vehicle in Michigan, I’ve put all pertinent information here for your benefit.

In the following sections, we’ll go over the basics of Michigan’s legal window tinting legislation.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Michigan?

legal tint in michigan-1

That’s all there is to it. If you live in Michigan, you may tint your windows and windshield. If you want to utilize tinted glass or film in your vehicle, you’ll need to follow certain state regulations and restrictions.

Michigan’s window tinting laws went into effect in 2000 and have been carefully enforced ever since then.

It’s imperative that you review the VLT (Visible Light Transmission) regulations in each of the states in the United States in order to prevent violating any laws.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In Michigan?

Because of this, Michigan is one of the more lenient states when it comes to tinting the windows on automobiles. In Michigan, you can tint your windows however much you like, with the exception of the front half of your car.

Passenger vehicles and multi-purpose vehicles are both affected by this trend.

Is 20% Tint Illegal In Michigan?

If you’re referring to the front side windows or the windshield, then yes, a 20 percent VLT tint is banned in Michigan. This refers to the entire window, not just a specific section.

The back and rear windows can have a tint of up to 20% without it being considered prohibited.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Michigan?

If you have tinted windows on the front area of your car, you can be pulled over in Michigan.

Due to Michigan’s strict tinting laws, an officer can pull you over if they notice a tint that is either excessively dark, reflective, or covers the entire windshield or window of your car..

If the authorities suspect you of engaging in illegal activity while driving, your chances of being stopped go up. Because tinted windows aren’t regarded a serious enough infraction, cops are less likely to pull you over for them.

You must take precautions to ensure that you comply with the tinting laws for your own safety and the protection of others.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In Michigan?

The penalties for breaking Michigan’s window tinting rules are severe. If you break the tinting regulations in Michigan without committing any other infraction, you could face a fine of $95. Additionally, two points will be added to your driver’s license as a result of a traffic infraction.

Window Tint Darkness In Michigan

Despite the fact that the state enables vehicle owners to tint their windows, this does not imply that there are no rules in place to manage this. If police officers can’t see what drivers and passengers are doing inside their vehicles, they’ll likely be pulled up for speeding.

Take the time to review all of the restrictions before you board the plane, both for your own safety and the safety of everyone else.

Since tinted windows are so commonplace, you don’t want to risk a fee for being pulled over for them.

The following are the restrictions on passenger and multipurpose vehicle window tinting:

For Passenger Vehicles

The top four inches of your windshield can be tinted with a film or glass that is 35 percent tinted. This film or glass must be completely non-reflective according to Michigan legislation.

Your front side windows can be tinted with 35 percent tinted glass or a film that only covers the uppermost 4 inches of the pane.

To darken your rear windows by up to 35%, you can use window tint.

The rear glass can be tinted up to a maximum of 35% blackness.

For MPVs (Multipurpose Vehicles)

The top four inches of your windshield can be tinted with a film or glass that is 35 percent tinted. Non-reflective glass or film is required by law in Michigan.

Your front side windows can be tinted with 35 percent tinted glass or a film that only covers the top four inches.

The back side of your windows can be tinted with up to 35% blackness.

Rear Window – You have the option of tinting your entire window up to 35% dark.

Window Tint Reflection In Michigan

Adding reflecting characteristics to your windows is a step up from simply tinting them. Unlike other states, Michigan does not have rules restricting the amount of reflective material that can be used to cover the windows of a vehicle.

The use of tinted reflection on windows is subject to some limitations in Michigan, although these are simple and straightforward. Let’s have a look at the product’s details.

For Passenger Vehicles

With fewer than 35% reflective materials, you are able to tint the front side of the window.

With materials that are less than 35% reflective, you are able to tint the back side glass.

For MPVs (Multipurpose Vehicles)

With fewer than 35% reflective materials, you are able to tint the front side of the window.

Rear Glass – You may tint the rear window with materials that are less than 35% reflective.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Michigan?

Certain medical issues would necessitate a darker tint than is typically allowed for drivers. For persons with lupus, photosensitivity, melanoma, etc., the state of Michigan has granted exemptions to window tinting.

In the event that you are stopped by a police officer, you will need to have your exemption certificate with you at all times.

Conclusion

Window tinting restrictions in Michigan are some of the most lenient in the country, making it easier for drivers to abide by them. These laws, no matter how lenient they may appear, have severe penalties for those who breach them.

Category: Car.