Is 20 Tint Illegal In Missouri ? Update 05/2022

legal tint in missouri-2

If you want more privacy, consider tinting your windows. In some states, tinting your windows might result in a traffic stop. Depending on where you live, window tinting has distinct norms and regulations.

In this article, I’ll go through the various rules you should be aware of if you’re considering window tinting for your vehicle.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windows And Windshield In Missouri?

legal tint in missouri-1

The law, which was passed in 2002, does not bar you from installing window tint on your vehicle. You must, however, strictly adhere to the provided guidelines.

These window tinting regulations must be adhered to in order for your car to be legal to operate. You may be issued a citation if you fail to adhere to window tinting regulations. Window tinting is legal in Missouri as long as it allows for a minimum of 35% of light to get through.

In contrast, the front windshield should never be tinted. Exceptions to this rule include tinting the top of the vehicle. The top half of your car is often tinted by the manufacturer.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In MO?

Tint levels can vary based on the type of glass in your car. Only the very top portion of your front windshield can be tinted. The back and rear windows, on the other hand, can be tinted with any shade of dark.

Only a 35% dark tint is permitted on the front and passenger side windows. Window tint should not reflect more than 35% of the outside light, in addition to this rule of thumb.

Is 20 Tint Illegal In MO?

Installing 20-tint darkness on the rear and back windows is permitted. These windows can be tinted in any shade. However, the tint on your passenger or side window can only be up to 35.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Missouri?

If you don’t adhere to Missouri’s window tinting regulations, you risk getting a citation. As long as your rear and back windows conform with the reflective legal requirement, they can have any window tint darkness.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In MO?

In Missouri, a $75 charge can be levied if your vehicle is registered there. If you didn’t remove your window tint after the first ticket, the cops have the option of charging you more. You may receive a ticket for more than $100 in some cities, depending on where you are.

Window Tint Darkness In Missouri

Only the front windscreen and front windows of your car are subject to restrictions in Missouri.

Only the very top of your windshield should be tinted. The AS-1 line refers to the upper section. A 35 percent light transmission window tint is recommended for the vehicle’s front and passenger windows. Only 35% of the outside light should be reflected by the passenger side windows.

According to the make and model of your vehicle, the following window tint darkness is permitted:

For Passenger Vehicles

Your front windshield can only be tinted up to the top five inches of your vehicle. The top portion of your car’s window tint should be no more than 35% reflecting.

Thirty-five percent of the light coming into your automobile should be coming in from your front side windows or your passenger’s side window. You can’t have a hue darker than 35 or more reflective than 35 percent.

There is no limit on the tint darkness of the backside windows. If your rear window is tinted, you’ll want to install side-by-side mirrors.

In terms of the rear windows, there is no tint darkness limit. In Missouri, there are no tint color limits.

For MPVs (Multipurpose Vehicles)

Your front windshield can only be tinted up to the top five inches of your vehicle. The top portion of your car’s window tint should be no more than 35% reflecting.

Thirty-five percent of the light coming into your automobile should be coming in from your front side windows or your passenger’s side window. You can’t have a hue darker than 35 or more reflective than 35 percent.

There is no limit on the tint darkness of the backside windows. But even if you have a car that serves many purposes, you should have dual-side mirrors if your back window is tinted.

In terms of the rear windows, there is no tint darkness limit. Multi-purpose vehicles can have any color tint they like.

Window Tint Reflection In Missouri

Your window tint’s reflectiveness is likewise regulated by state legislation in Missouri. A window tint’s reflectivity is determined by its tint reflection regulations.

Reflective tints can help lessen the sun’s rays and keep your car cooler, making it more pleasant to drive. Your vehicle’s reflectiveness is limited, though, due to federal regulations.

Listed below are the window tinting regulations in Missouri:

For Passenger Vehicle

The tint on the front side windows cannot reflect more than 35% of the outside light.

You can’t apply a tint that blocks more than 35% of the light coming from the outside on the back side windows.

For MPVs (Multipurpose Vehicles)

The tint on the front side windows cannot reflect more than 35% of the outside light.

Using a tint on the back windows that reflects more than 35% of incoming light is prohibited.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Missouri?

Those with medical conditions that necessitate window tinting in their vehicles might request for a medical exemption.” You must submit a written statement from your doctor detailing your unique medical condition and get it approved by the police.

Conclusion

Adding window tint to your car may seem like a simple way to increase your privacy. You might be punished or even imprisoned if your window tint does not comply with Missouri’s rules. Before applying window tint to your vehicle, be sure to verify local requirements.

Category: Car.