What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In NJ? Update 05/2022

legal tint in nj

In 2003, New Jersey became the U.S.’s 41st state to enforce tight regulations on window tinting. In the years thereafter, the state has continuously followed these principles. On this page, you’ll find a breakdown of these laws and how to comply with them.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In New Jersey?

No, legally speaking, tinted windows and windshields are not permitted in New Jersey. Almost two decades ago, in 2003, a legislation was passed making it unlawful to tint the front area of your car.

New Jersey’s VLT (Visible Light Transmission) requirements are among the most straightforward in the country, making it easier for drivers to comply.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In NJ?

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In NJ-2

In New Jersey, tinting your front and windshield is against the law; however, you are allowed to tint your back and rear windows. In this state, you can legally tint the back and rear windows of your sedan, van, or SUV to any degree of blackness.

Is 20% Tint Illegal In NJ?

According to which windows you’re asking, this question can be answered. Multipurpose vehicles cannot have their windshields tinted more than 20 percent.

Passenger vehicles are allowed to tint the upper six inches of their windows up to 20%. No tinting is allowed on the front side windows of passenger or multipurpose vehicles.

Finally, the back windows and windshields of both multifunctional and passenger cars can be tinted to any desired level.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In New Jersey?

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In NJ-1

You might be pulled up for tinted windows in New Jersey even if you haven’t breached any other rules or regulations.

It’s not uncommon for a police officer in New Jersey to pull you over after noticing that your rear windows are tinted in order to check your front windows and windshield as well.

Your car may be in big danger if the front windows have been tinted. They’ll probably look at how dark the tint is on the windshield.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In NJ?

New Jersey’s window tinting regulations are onerous, and violators face steep penalties. If your vehicle’s front windows or windshield are found to be tinted beyond the legal limit, you might be hit with a $1,000 fine.

If you’re found guilty of a second or subsequent offense, you’ll be hit with a $5,000 penalty. Those who want to tint their windows in New Jersey should conform to the state’s tinting requirements to the letter.

Window Tint Darkness In New Jersey

Since they were enacted, New Jersey’s window tinting laws and restrictions have been severely enforced. VLT or Visible Light Transmission % is utilized to determine the rules, as described earlier.

Tinting your car’s windows is regulated by both the amount of light that may pass through the glass and the film that you employ. Both cases are subject to the same stringent regulations. Each type of vehicle has its own set of rules and regulations.

Passenger and multipurpose vehicle rules will be covered in this section.

For Passenger Vehicles

No amount of tinting is permitted on the windshield of a passenger car, according to the law.

Front Side Windows – It is illegal to tint your passenger car’s front windows in any way.

Windows on the Rear — In New Jersey, the rear windows of a passenger car can be tinted to any desired level.

In New Jersey, you can tint your passenger vehicle’s rear window to any degree.

For MPVs (Multipurpose Vehicles)

It is illegal to tint the windshield of your passenger vehicle in any way, shape, or form.

No tinting is allowed on the passenger vehicle’s front side windows, according to the law.

The back windows of your multifunctional car in New Jersey can be tinted to your heart’s content.

The rear window of your multifunctional car in New Jersey can be tinted to any degree you like.

Window Tint Reflection In New Jersey

Tinting laws and regulations in the state of New Jersey are extremely stringent and particular. The laws not only limit the amount of tint you can put on your windows, but they also regulate what kind of tinted film you can use.

Many colored films contain metallic or reflecting qualities, even if this isn’t the case for all of them. If you don’t want to be stopped in New Jersey, you’ll need to take special caution when selecting the film.

Passenger and multi-purpose vehicles are subject to New Jersey’s regulations on the use of reflective tinted film.

For Passenger Vehicle

No shiny or metallic appearance is permitted on the front side window.

A reflective or metallic appearance on the back side of the window is not permitted.

For Multipurpose Vehicle

No shiny or metallic appearance is permitted on the front side window.

A reflective or metallic appearance on the back side of the window is not permitted.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For A Window Tint In New Jersey?

New Jersey, like many other US states, offers medical exemptions for window tinting in certain circumstances. If you have skin malignancies, photosensitivity, actinic dermatitis, and a few other medical disorders, you can request for a medical exemption here.

You are allowed to tint your front windows to a percentage of less than 35% under the exemption. The windscreen has a 35 percent restriction. In the event that you are stopped, it is recommended that you have your exemption certificate in your vehicle.

Conclusion

Finally, even if the window tinting regulations in New Jersey are severe, this does not imply that they are impossible to comply with. Please read these guidelines carefully so that you don’t get in trouble with the law.

Category: Car.