Is 20% Tint Illegal In Ohio? Update 05/2022

legal tint in ohio-2

A tinted glass on your car could help keep your personal information safe. The law in Ohio, on the other hand, stipulates that your front side windows can only be tinted to a percentage of 70%. If you live in Ohio and want to tint your windows, keep reading.

In this piece, we’ll address some frequently asked issues about Ohio’s new tint regulations. Other topics covered include how to receive a medical exemption and what % of Tint is allowed in a vehicle.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows in Ohio?

legal tint in ohio-1

Visible light transmission (VLT) is a tool used by Ohio law enforcement to identify window tint. In Ohio, window tinting is permitted, but only if it complies with specific guidelines.

To comply with state regulations, the driver’s and passenger’s side windows in Ohio must be at least 50% VLT. Visibility through the windshield should be at least 70% VLT. However, the windows in the backseat and the rear window are not subject to any regulations.

It is illegal in the state of Ohio to operate a vehicle with tinted windows that do not meet the state’s criteria. Vehicles with tinted windows that do not meet VLT regulations are illegal to sell.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally  Get In OH?

For the driver and passenger windows, the state of Ohio prohibits tinting of less than 50%. There are no VLT requirements for the backseat windows or the rear windows.

Is 20% Tint Illegal In OH?

The front windows of a vehicle cannot be tinted darker than 50%, according to the law. However, there are no limits for the back seats and the rear, therefore a percentage of 20% is permissible.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Ohio?

Any police officer’s attention will be drawn to a car with darkly tinted windows. In the event that a driver is armed and the authorities are unable to observe what the driver is doing, it puts them in jeopardy.

In addition to the state’s sticker requirements, officers have a meter that can measure light transmission through tinted windows.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In OH?

You might face a $120 fine and a misdemeanor if your car is found to be in violation of Ohio’s window tinting requirements. Side mirrors, on the other hand, are unrestricted.

Window Tint Darkness In Ohio

It’s worth noting that tinted windows aren’t subject to the same restrictions in Ohio as they are in other parts of the country. Vibrational Light Transmission (VLT), which quantifies how much light is allowed to pass through, is the standard by which the laws are judged.

There may be some discrepancies between the percentages of light allowed in Ohio and other states, as well as between passenger and multi-purpose vehicles.

The higher the VLT, the more light is allowed to pass through the tint. If your tint is 75%, it will let through 75% of the light, but if it is just 5%, it will only let through 5% of the light (this is a darker tint). The VLT for the two side windows at the front must be at least 50%, according to the current regulations.

For Passenger Vehicle

The top five inches of the windshield can only have a non-reflective tint, according to the regulation (must be 70 percent VLT)

Windows on the Front Sides — The permissible VLT grade in Ohio is 50%

There are presently no criteria for the back side windows.

Currently, there are no prerequisites for the Rear Window.

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

Only non-reflective tint on the top 5 inches of the windshield is permitted by regulation (must be 70 percent VLT)

Ohio’s permitted VLT grade for front windows is 50%.

Requirements for Back Side Windows — There are presently no restrictions

There are presently no standards for the rear window.

Window Tint Reflection In Ohio

Before making a selection on tinted windows in Ohio, you should take into consideration the following:

Are Side-Mirrors Required In OH?

Having side mirrors is only necessary if the view from your windshield is obstructed by a mirror.

Are Colored Tints Illegal In OH?

In the United States, there are no restrictions prohibiting the use of any color. You are free to select any hue for the tint.

Are There Any Certification Rules For Windows Tints In OH?

The films that are being sold in Ohio must be certified by the distributors and manufacturers supplying them. In order to ensure that your dealer is using Ohio-approved films, you’ll need to contact them directly.

Is It A Requirement To Have A Certified Sticker On The Car From The Company In OH?

Having a sticker on the window proves that the tinting is legal. Is there a medical exception for tinter windows available in Ohio? There is presently no medical exemption for the use of window tinting in Ohio, according to state law.

The rules are in place to protect law enforcement officers. When a police approaches a car, visibility is critical because the occupants within the vehicle can pose a threat to the officer’s safety without their knowledge.

There are meters that can measure the quantity of light flowing through, and it is recommended to have a sticker for each window that states the window tinting leaves.

For Passenger Vehicle

Non-reflective material is permissible on the front side window.

Non-reflective material is permitted on the back side of the window.

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

Non-reflective material is permissible on the front side window.

Non-reflective material is permitted on the back side of the window.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint in Ohio?

Please be aware that the state of Ohio does not currently allow tinted windows for medical exemption. To have this regulation reconsidered, file an appeal or petition with the State Representative in your district.

Conclusion

Remember that tinting restrictions in Ohio are specific to the state, and will differ from those in other parts of the United States. Check the regulations again before making a final decision.

Additionally, you should know how light transmission is assessed by VLT so that you can purchase the correct type of tinting for your car.

Passenger and driver windows must be at least 50 percent, and the windshield must be at least 70 percent. There are presently no VLT levels assigned to the backseat windows or the rear of the vehicle.

Category: Car.