Tinted windows on cars are popular in Pennsylvania for three main reasons: improved comfort, improved aesthetics, and the best possible protection from the damaging effects of the sun.
Window tinting was not made legal in Pennsylvania until 1999, when the state’s legislation went into force. It is the 33rd state (out of 50) to sign up to the legislation.
Of course, you can still make your car look flashy and individualistic, but there are some limitations. You may rely on me to provide all the information you require to enjoy a legal and secure journey over the country’s highways.
If you want to avoid large fines and have a pleasant trip, you should familiarize yourself with the regulations governing window tints.
Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Pennsylvania?
It is possible to measure how much light can pass through your car’s window using the phrase “visible light transmission” (VLT). For this reason, using a high-quality tint film is critical. It’s important to note that each state has its own set of legal standards for what constitutes acceptable behavior.
Variations exist between multipurpose and passenger vehicles in the region’s VLT %. The window tint criteria should not pose a problem if you meet them.
It’s a common practice to include window tinting in the vehicle’s manufacturing process. After the car has been manufactured and sold, it may be necessary to perform a recall.
What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In PA?
When it comes to window tinting, Pennsylvania is known as one of the harshest states in the country. In the United States, unlike in several other countries, all automobiles must adhere to the same visible light transmission %. That equates to roughly 70% VLT.
Otherwise, the state requires specific qualifications before allowing you to go any darker than the planned tint darkness, barring an application for a medical exemption.
In spite of what some would think, the state has a lower rate of traffic accidents and deaths than the United States.
Is 20% Tint Illegal In PA?
No, a 20% tint is unlawful, as indicated above, because the allowable tint percentage is 70%. Tinted windows will be subject to examination under the state’s new law. Cars with dark windows will be held responsible for failing the inspection.
Even a 20 percent drop in the polls is regarded to be a huge setback. It may give you a shaky vision of the night sky, which could lead to a traffic accident. It’s not just good for your safety to stick to the recommended percentage of visible light transmission.
You’re also making it easier for police officers to do their jobs. During a traffic stop, they are able to swiftly identify the occupants of a vehicle.
Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Pennsylvania?
You can be pulled over by police officers if they discover that your car’s windows are tinted too darkly.
They have a tool for calculating tint darkness that has been certified by the state of Pennsylvania. It is possible that you will only be assessed a little fee if your percentage falls below 70%.
How Much Is A Tint Ticket In PA?
First-time offenders should not be alarmed by small infractions. If you choose to resolve the issue as soon as you are pulled over, you may be able to get a lower fine. The state has not set a minimum fee, so you can anticipate to spend as little as $20 or as much as $200 depending on your circumstances.
If you didn’t remove the tint, you’ll be required to do it because the likelihood of being pulled over again is high. Most sources stated that drivers in Pennsylvania who were caught with window tint violations were fined up to $110 for the first offense.
You could be charged with more serious traffic offenses, or even criminal offenses. So, you must abide with the tinting rule and follow the proper actions if you’ve been fined for it.
Window Tint Darkness In Pennsylvania
Hardtop, hatchback, sedan, coupe and station wagon are all examples of passenger vehicles. Minibuses, vans, pickup trucks, SUVs, and recreational vehicles can all be considered multipurpose vehicles.
For Passenger Vehicle
The top three inches of the windshield have a VLT content of 70% or more.
At least 70% of the light must come from the front windows.
70% of light comes in through the backside windows.
A minimum of seventy percent of the available light should come in via the back window.
For MPV (Multipurpose Vehicle)
Over 70% of the windshield’s top three inches are covered by shards of glass.
At least 70% of light enters through the front side windows.
The back windows can have any tint or darkness.
It doesn’t matter how dark the tint is on the back window.
Window Tint Reflection In Pennsylvania
A vehicle’s reflectiveness must also meet strict standards in Pennsylvania. A registration permit is all that police officers expect to find linked to a vehicle.
For Passenger Vehicle
No metallic, mirrored, or any non-transparent elements can be found in the front side window.
There are no metallic, reflective, or any other non-transparent materials on the back side of the window.
For MVP (Multipurpose Vehicle)
Non-transparent materials are not allowed on the front side window.
Not a single non-transparent substance or metal should be used on the back side window.
How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Pennsylvania?
A darker window tint may be permitted by the state if you suffer from poor vision or another health condition that prevents you from being exposed to bright light. Medical conditions such as melanoma, lupus, photosensitivity, and sunlight allergy are all examples of which are excused from the rule.
In Pennsylvania, UV rays can be filtered by colorless materials, although they are not recommended. There is a medical unit at the Department of Transportation that you should call. If you’re caught, you’ll need to provide law enforcement with proof of what you’ve done.
Window tint is certainly a cost-effective friend that offers you with optimal comfort and security while traveling. Also, your car would be a huge assist in making it shine. Up to 95% of the light can’t get through.
In general, window tint laws in Pennsylvania state that passenger vehicles and MPVs must have a VLT of more than 70% and a tint reflection of less than 1%. Medical exemptions are available for those who are sensitive to light.
If you didn’t follow the tinting regulations, you’ll be charged with a crime. When you are accused of a crime, you should seek the advice of a lawyer.