Legal Tint In SC That You Should Know Update 05/2022

Legal Tint In SC That You Should Know-2

Window tint regulations in South Carolina can be found right here if you’re interested.

There are some who want them because of the seclusion they provide, while others simply want to keep the sun out of the car for enhanced comfort.

Whatever your motivation for wanting tinted windows on your car, I’ve included some information about what’s permissible in the Palmetto State.

Can You Have Your Windshield and Windows Tinted In South Carolina?

Legal Tint In SC That You Should Know-1

Yes, tinted windows are legal in South Carolina. Installing window tint that does not meet the state’s specifications is a sure way to get a ticket or penalty. To avoid getting into conflict with the authorities, don’t just tint the windows anyway you want.

What Is The Darkest Tints Drivers Can Get Legally In SC?

In South Carolina, the maximum amount of tint you can have is 27 percent VLT. To be acceptable, tints must allow a certain amount of light through, known as VLT, which stands for “visible light transmission.” SUVs, sedans, and utility vehicles all have different cargo capacities.

Is 20 Tint Against The Law In SC?

Yes, 20-tint paint is generally prohibited. Due to the fact that South Carolina only allows tints with a maximum of 27 percent darkness, 20 percent tints would not be allowed except on the back side windows and the rear windows of MPV’s (multipurpose vehicles).

Will You Get Stopped By Officers For Tinted Windows In South Carolina?

When driving through South Carolina, be aware that having tints that are too dark may result in a traffic stop. As reported by the Newberry Observer, South Carolina’s Prosperity was the subject of an investigation in 2017.

People were being pulled over because of tinted windows on their vehicles, trucks, and SUVs. There’s a good chance that some of these people had to pay a fine for their actions.

The Fine For A Tint Infraction In SC

According to the Newberry Observer story, the fine for a tint infraction is no less than $200 or jail for no more than 30 days for each incident.

One should not rely on officers issuing warnings for small violations, as this is usually reserved for first-time offenders and allows the opportunity to correct their transgressions before their case is dropped.

Here are a few other things to keep in mind if you want to avoid conflict with the law.

Amber yellow and red are prohibited by state law from being used as vehicle window tint colors.

Each tinted window must have a tag identifying tints that fall within the permitted limit between the glass and the film.

It’s standard practice for tint shops to certify their products’ quality. Prior to scheduling an appointment or paying for servicing, ask your dealer to inspect the problem.

If your back windows are tinted, you’ll need two side mirrors to see what’s going on behind you.

To be on the safe side, it’s preferable to have your tints applied by a professional to ensure that you stay within the bounds of the law.

Darkness Levels Acceptable For Tints In South Carolina

In this section, I’ll go through the tint regulations for three different kinds of vehicles.

For Passenger Vehicles

In accordance with the manufacturer’s instructions, a nonreflective tint can be placed to the windshield above the AS1 line.

Tints on the side windows of the front house must let in a minimum of 27 percent of the available light.

Light must be allowed to pass through the tints on the side windows.

Rear windows must have a light transmittance of no less than 27%.

For MPVs (Multipurpose Vehicles)

A non-reflective tint can be put above the AS-1 line on the windshield, as stated by the vehicle manufacturer

Tints on the side windows of the front house must permit a minimum of 27 percent of the available light to pass through.

As long as it is applied several inches from the top of the glass, any amount of darkness can be employed.

Any degree of darkness is permitted in the rear windows.

Reflection Of Window Tint In South Carolina

Let’s now discuss the reflection of window tint. Reflecting light and decreasing the temperature of your vehicle are two benefits of using these sorts of tints. Glare can be reduced as well by using these products.

Individuals alighting from your vehicle can see themselves via the windows but you cannot. But the real question is: are they legal in South Carolina? Find out more by reading on.

For Passenger Vehicle

Reflective tints are not allowed on the front side windows.

Tints for the rear-facing side windows are not permitted to reflect light.

For MPVs (Multipurpose Vehicles)

In South Carolina, reflecting tints are not allowed on the side windows.

Attaining Medical Exemption Regarding Window Tints In South Carolina

A signed affidavit from a professional optometrist or physician is required to obtain a medical tint exemption in South Carolina. Your car must always have this affidavit with you.

Because of their medical condition, it’s necessary to certify in writing that the driver needs their car to have darker-than-legal window tinting. The affidavit must be updated every two years.

Conclusion

As you can see, the state of South Carolina’s window tint regulations are complicated. If you want to tint your vehicle, make sure you go to a trustworthy tint dealer first.

Because of the increased privacy and comfort it provides, tinted windows on your car are a terrific option for you and your passengers alike.

Even so, it isn’t really worth the hassle of dealing with police enforcement or the heavy charges (or go to jail). You will have a better time if you are aware of and adhere to local laws.

Category: Car.