Legal Tint In Wisconsin That You Should Know Update 05/2022

Legal Tint In Wisconsin-1

If you’ve never driven before, or if you’ve never been to Wisconsin, you may not be familiar with the state’s rules on window tinting.

You’re not the only one who feels this way. Tinting is illegal in many parts of the state, and even inhabitants aren’t aware of the fines and penalties that come with it.

In spite of the fact that summers in Wisconsin are rarely particularly hot, the constant glare of the sun may be a real annoyance.

If you want to tint your car windows, by all means do so, but only after you’ve familiarized yourself with the regulations.

Everything you need to know about getting your windows tinted in Wisconsin can be found in the following sections.

If you don’t do so, you could find yourself in trouble with the law.

Can You Have Tinted Windows And Windshield In Wisconsin?

Legal Tint In Wisconsin -1

Yes, it is correct. In Wisconsin, it is legal to tint both the windows and the windshields of a vehicle. However, in Wisconsin, tinting your windshield is only granted the barest of leeway.

If you’re in Wisconsin, though, you can only tint the upper portion of your windscreen. This tint must also be composed of non-reflective material. The maximum amount of tint that can be applied to a window depends on the VLT %.

VLT, or Visible Light Transmission, is the amount of light that can pass through your vehicle’s windows.

In Wisconsin, like in every other state, there are strict limits on the amount of tinting you can apply to the windows of your car or truck.

What Is The Tint Darkest Limits In WI?

In Wisconsin, the maximum amount of tint you can have on your vehicle depends on the part of the vehicle – or which individual window – you’re referring to.

In Wisconsin, the darkest tint you may choose for your backside and rear windows is 65 percent. Passenger vehicles and MPVs alike are subject to this limit.

The front side windows of passenger cars and multipurpose vehicles can only be tinted to a maximum of 50%.

Additionally, as previously indicated, you may only put a non-reflective tint on the upper portion of your windshield.

How About The “20 Tint” In WI?

Depending on whatever window you’re asking about, you may get a different answer. A “20 tint” is unlawful in Wisconsin if you are talking about the front of the vehicle.

Rear and back windows, on the other hand, are allowed to be tinted to a maximum of “20 tint” under Wisconsin law.

Will Cops Stop You For Having A Tint In Wisconsin?

If you have tinted your windows in Wisconsin, you will be pulled over by a police officer. When the tint exceeds the permissible limit, however, this frequently occurs.

The tint on your windows can be measured by many cops who carry a small portable instrument.

If you’ve been stopped, there’s a good probability the officer suspects you of other crimes like reckless driving, speeding, etc.

Ticket For Tinting In Wisconsin

The typical fine for a tint offense is $175.30 in Wisconsin. For this reason, fines for excessive tinting tend to be handed out on a case-by-case basis by state police officers.

While other states may levy a fine if you break the tinting regulations, Wisconsin does not.

Laws For Tint Limit In Wisconsin

The legal restrictions for window tinting in Wisconsin are well-defined, as we’ve shown in earlier sections.

Keep these boundaries in mind when getting your windows tinted, and you’ll avoid a lot of headaches in the long run.

Passenger cars and multi-purpose vehicles have different tinting restrictions.

Passenger Vehicles

Only the upper half of the Windshield can be tinted to be non-reflective.

The front windows can have a maximum tint of 50%, while the back windows can have a maximum tint of 65%.

No more than 65% of the rear window can be tinted.

Multi-Purpose Vehicles Or MPVs

Only the upper half of the Windshield can be tinted to be non-reflective.

When it comes to how much darkness you can have on your vehicle’s windows, MPVs and sedans follow the same set of guidelines: The maximum percentage of glass allowed on the front, back, and rear windows is 50 percent.

Laws For Reflection In Wisconsin

Using reflective film on the windows of a car is legal in many US states, but it isn’t in all. This is mostly done for the sake of safety.

Because the state of Wisconsin does not get much sunlight, this law seems to be a sensible one.

Window tinting regulations in Wisconsin for sedans and MPVs will be released soon, so stay tuned for more information.

Passenger Vehicles

A tinted coating on the front windows is not permitted.

A tinted coating on the rear windows is not permitted.

Multi-Purpose Vehicles Or MPVS

A tinted film is not allowed on the front windows.

The back windows are not allowed to be tinted.

Medical Exemption: How To Get One For Tinting Your Windows

The state of Wisconsin is one of many in the United States that permits the use of a specific tint for those with specific medical issues.

In Wisconsin, medical exemptions are often granted to those with skin problems that are highly sensitive to light, as well as those with auto-immune diseases.

Conclusion

There you have it: Wisconsin’s basic window tinting rules. It’s logical that Wisconsin’s tinting restrictions are more stringent than those in other states, given the state’s climate.

However, excessive tinting is punishable by steep fines in this state, so it’s best to avoid it.

Because the state’s tinting regulations for sedans and MPVs are so similar, remembering them both is simple.

Category: Car.