Every state has different laws about how dark and shiny your window tint can be.
Before going to a new state, it’s a good idea to find out what the laws are about window tint so you don’t get pulled over or get a ticket.
If you’re moving to Minnesota or just stopping by, you should know what the state’s laws are about window tint.
Why do they matter? Can you get pulled over in Minnesota for tinting your windows?
How much can a ticket cost you? What else do I need to know about laws about window tint?
We’ll tell you everything you need to know about the rules for window tint in Minnesota.
Legal VLT Limit in Minnesota
Visible Light Transmission, or VLT, is the amount of light that can get through the tinted window of your car.
The more light gets through the window film, the higher the VLT percentage.
Minnesota’s VLT rules depend on the type of car and the size of the window, so it’s important to pay close attention to what percentage of VLT each type of car needs.
The law in Minnesota says that the front windshield of a passenger car can’t have any tint.
There must be at least 50 percent VLT or more on the side windows of the front and back seats and on the back windshield.
Minnesota law says that the front windshield of a vehicle that can be used for more than one thing can’t be tinted.
There must be at least 50 percent VLT or more on the side windows of the front seats. The back seat side windows and rear windshield can have any amount of darkness.
Squad Cars, Limousines, and Funeral Establishment-Owned Vehicles
Minnesota law says that the front windshield of vehicles like police cars, limousines, and cars owned by funeral homes can’t be tinted.
There are no rules about how much VLT can be in the side or back windows of any of these cars.
Why Have Window Tint Laws?
Laws about window tint are important because dark window tint can make it hard to see at night or in bad weather.
Also, if a police officer pulls you over, they must be able to see inside the car at least a little bit.
If you follow the rules about window tint, you won’t get a ticket and everyone on the road will be safer.
Can You Get Pulled Over for Window Tint?
In Minnesota, a police officer can pull you over if they think your window tint is too dark.
Tint metres are used by state officers to check the amount of tint on your window and see if it is legal in Minnesota.
Because of this, it is best to make sure you are following tint rules as soon as possible.
Most of the time, you can have a tint difference of up to 3 percent, but it’s better to be safe than sorry.
How Much Can You Be Ticketed For?
Most of the time, if a police officer finds that your window tint doesn’t follow Minnesota law, you’ll get either a warning or a ticket.
If this isn’t the first time you’ve been pulled over because of your tinted windows, the state will have a record of your previous tickets and warnings and will give you a ticket.
Depending on your county, ticket fines can be anywhere from $50 to $200, and they go up each time you get pulled over for a violation.
Also, taking off or changing the window tint on your car can be expensive, so it’s best to save yourself time and money before it’s too late.
There are also rules about colours, exemptions, certifications, and more when it comes to window tint in Minnesota.
Window tint can be red, blue, green, yellow, and many other colours.
If you own a car and choose one of these cool tints, you don’t have to worry. All tint colours are legal in the state of Minnesota as long as they don’t violate the VLT rules.
Medical exemptions for special tint are allowed in the state of Minnesota, but if you don’t want to get a ticket, you should always carry proof with you in case you get pulled over.
As proof, you should always keep a copy of the prescription or other document from your doctor that explains the special tint in your car.
This document must say the minimum VLT percentage you can have on your vehicle to meet your medical needs and have an expiration date.
The date the document expires can’t be more than two years after it was issued.
In the state of Minnesota, window tint manufacturers are not required by law to certify the film they sell, so a certificate from the manufacturer is not required.
But you have to put a sticker on your car window to show that the tinting is legal.
This sticker should go on the driver’s side window between the film and the glass.
If you don’t have this sticker, you could also get a warning or a ticket.
Laws about window tinting tend to change over time, and they can even be different from one day to the next.
Also, these laws and restrictions can be different between counties and even cities. For the most accurate and up-to-date information, you should always check with your local DMV or law enforcement agencies.