Having tint on your windows might look cool, but be careful: some states have laws about how deep the tint can go on any window and when it’s okay to go deeper.
- Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In North Carolina? Updated 11/2023
- What Can You Put In Gas Tank To Mess Up Car Updated 11/2023
- Top 9 Small Commercial Pickup Vehicles Updated 11/2023
- Is It Illegal To Drive Without A Side Mirror In Florida? Updated 11/2023
- BMW 1 Series Sedan Debuts China Updated 11/2023
Window tinting laws in Missouri are pretty easy, which is good news.
Most of the time, tinted windows are done for health reasons.
No matter why you might get pulled over, it’s a good idea to have a permit on hand.
What is the Maximum Tint for Cars in Missouri?
Any car in Missouri can have tinted windows as long as the tint is no more than 35 percent VLT (visible light transmission).
In short, that percentage shows how much light can get through the tinted film and the window itself.
The passenger and driver windows can be above or below by up to 3 percent.
There is no limit on how dark the left and right rear windows can be made.
How Much Light Should You Let In?
The tinted windows must still let in enough light, though.
Windows must be 32 percent darker and 38 percent lighter in terms of how much visible light they let through.
Also, putting mirror-like film on your car is probably against the law, so it might be a good idea to take it off.
How Much Tinting Can the Windshield Have?
Only the top part of the windshield can be tinted, where it won’t get in the way of your view.
The law doesn’t say exactly where the tinting should end on the windshield.
It doesn’t matter where the road leads as long as you can see it.
We suggest that you don’t tint your window below the AS1 line, which is near the top of your windshield.
It will be written in black.
How Reflective Can a Windshield be in Missouri?
Tinting your windshield is like putting a big pair of sunglasses over your eyes so you can’t see what’s going on on the road.
Tinting materials may have small pieces of metal that reflect the light that comes into your car.
So, this light doesn’t shine as brightly and doesn’t heat up as much.
The front and back windows of a car with tinted windows can’t reflect more than 35% of light.
How to Get a Window Tinting Permit in Missouri
You can apply for a window tinting permit if you want to tint your windows.
You’ll need a note from your primary care doctor saying why you need a permit and what percentage of your car’s windows need to be tinted.
Once you have a prescription, you can go to the local Highway Patrol Office, where they will give you your permit.
You’ll get a bumper sticker and a sticker for the front of your car.
You’ll also get a copy of your prescription and a copy of your car permit.
Can You Get Pulled Over for Tint in Missouri?
In Missouri, yes, people are sometimes pulled over for tint.
But if you have a copy of your licence and a prescription for the tint, you have nothing to worry about.
Also, the stickers will be on your windshield and bumper, so you can show the officer where they are.
Keep in mind that if you don’t have your permit or tickets, you could get a ticket for not moving.
Who Else Can Drive My Tinted Vehicle?
With a permit, only people in your immediate family who live in your home can drive a car with tinted windows.
With a permit, your spouse, child, or son who lives with you can drive a car with tinted windows.
Is a Sticker Necessary if You Have Tinted Windows?
You only need a sticker if you need to have extra-dark windows for health reasons.
If the tint on all of your windows is less than 35%, you don’t need a sticker or a permit.
If you don’t have one, you will need one if the police stop you.
Can My Car’s Tint Only Be Black?
No colour tints are against the law in Missouri.
You can use any colour you want, as long as it doesn’t make it hard for you to see the road.
How Much Will it Cost to Have My Windows Tinted?
Different places have different prices for tinted windows.
It can cost anywhere from $80 to $800.
How much you pay depends on how many windows you want tinted, what kind of tint you want, and which dealership you go to.
We suggest looking for a professional dealership with a good track record and prices that are fair.
Should I Not Buy Tint That is Not Certified?
In the state of Missouri, companies that make car tint do not have to get their products certified.
Keep in mind that it’s better to use certified car tint since using uncertified car tint can give the police a reason to pull you over.
Before they put the tint on your car, ask your dealer for proof that the tint is certified.
At least 35% of light should be able to get in through the front windows. Cannot reflect more than 35% of light.
Back windows can have any amount of tint. Cannot reflect more than 35% of light.
Any level of tinting is okay for the back window.
A non-reflective tint above the AS1 line on the windshield.
Shortly, Missouri has made it easier for people to tint their windows.
Don’t forget that you need a permit to go over the standard 35 percent VLT, and you should always have your stickers out.
If you can, have a professional tint your windows, even if it costs a little more.