Updated at: 11-06-2022 - By: Lucas

When it comes to window tint, people who drive cars in Montana have to follow certain rules.

The laws were made in 1991, and in 2007 they were changed.

We’ve given you all the information you need about how reflective or dark your car’s tint can be, as well as other rules that drivers should know about when they’re on the road.

Please keep reading for more information about Montana’s laws on window tint.

Can You Get Pulled Over for Tint in Montana?

In short, yes, drivers in Montana can get pulled over if their tint is too dark.

But there are some differences in how the allowed percentages work.

Here are some terms that drivers should know, along with the percentage limits for how dark the tint can be on different kinds of cars.

What Are the Rules and Regulations for VLT in Montana?

Montana Tint Laws-1

Visible light transmission (VLT) is the amount of light that can get into your car through the window tint film.

The law in each state sets different limits on how much you can do.

In Montana, there are strict rules about how much light can get through your glass.

If you are driving a multi-purpose vehicle or a passenger vehicle, the limits are different.

When the VLT is higher, more light can get through the tint film.

For example, a 70 percent tint means that this film lets only 70 percent of the light through the glass.

On the other hand, if your window tinting film only lets 10% of light through, your windows will be much darker.

Tint changes how much light you can see, but it also changes how well people outside can see what’s going on inside the car.

This means that drivers with darker tinted windows are harder for police to see. Because of this, there are usually rules about window tint.

As was already said, the amount of tint that is legal in Montana depends on the type of vehicle.

Here are the rules for both passenger and multi-use vehicles.

Legal tint limit for multi-purpose vehicles:

Any amount of tint darkness is fine for the back window.

Any amount of tint darkness is allowed on the back and side windows.

Up to 24 percent of the front and side windows can have a dark tint.

Front Windshield: The tint must not reflect light and be allowed above the AS-1 line of the vehicle manufacturer.

Window Tint Reflection Laws in Montana

Up to 14 percent of the rear window can have a dark tint.

Up to 14 percent of darkness can be added to the tint on the back side windows.

Up to 24 percent of the front and side windows can have a dark tint.

Front Windshield: The tint must not reflect light, and it can go up to the manufacturer’s AS-1 line.

Laws about how window tint affects glare in Montana

Aside from making it darker, the window tint can also cut down on heat and glare while reflecting light that comes in.

Montana law allows a certain amount of window reflection, so drivers must also pay attention to this rule.

Legal tint reflection for vehicles with more than one use:

Front side windows can’t reflect more than 35% of light.

Back side windows can’t reflect more than 35% of light.

Reflection of legal tint for passenger cars:

Front side windows can’t reflect more than 35% of light.

Back side windows can’t reflect more than 35% of light.

Additional Tint Rules and Regulations in Montana

Montana Tint Laws-2

There are a few other exceptions to the tinting rules in Montana.

We’ve written them down below so you can remember them.

Please make sure your car meets all the rules before you drive in Montana to avoid getting in trouble with the law.

Is it necessary to have side mirrors when driving in Montana?

In Montana, if the back window is tinted, you must have two side mirrors.

Is it illegal to have colored tint in Montana?

The only tint colours that aren’t allowed in Montana are red, yellow, and amber.

Are there any window tint certification laws that I should know of if I live in Montana?

If you make tint film in Montana, you don’t need to get the film certified.

Does Montana law require a certified tint sticker from the company that installed my tint?

Even though the state law suggests it, you are not required to put a sticker on your window to show that the tint film is legal.

Are there any medical exemptions for window tint in Montana?

In Montana, there are laws about window tint that are different for medical reasons.

Contact your local DMV if you need more information about the specifics of the exemption.

What are the consequences for having a tint on your car that is too dark?

This will be a misdemeanour, and you could have to pay up to $500 in fines.

This fine can be the only punishment, or it can be paired with a six-month sentence in county jail (Montana law 46-18-212).


Remember that drivers in Montana must follow the tint laws for both how dark the tint is and how much light it lets through.

Before you tint your car windows, you should make sure you’ve read the rules and fully understand them.

If you want to know more about the rules and laws for driving in the state of Montana, please read on.

Warning: The tint laws in Montana can change every day, and they may be different from one county or city to the next.

We suggest that you double-check the information here with your local police department or DMV to make sure it is correct.

The information about tint laws in Montana was last changed on February 28, 2021.