What Are North Carolina Tint Laws? Update 05/2022

What Are North Carolina Tint Laws-2

Car tinting serves a variety of tasks. The lenses of some have metallic components that look like sunglasses. They reduce visible light-induced heat and flashes, and they also reflect light from the outside. However, it also results in a glassy appearance for your automobile.

Make sure your windows are properly tinted before deciding to do so. To begin with, it must be in accordance with the North Carolina law on window tinting (legislated in 2001). It doesn’t matter how unpleasant the notion or how exhausting the process may be, it will provide you with adequate protection when driving.

Before setting out on your next road trip, make sure to familiarize yourself with the state’s window tint regulations.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In North Carolina?

What Are North Carolina Tint Laws-1

Windshield and window tinting is legal in North Carolina as long as it complies with the legislation. A $10 additional cost will be added to the usual $27.20 (price varies) to conduct a safety check to ensure that car owners are in compliance with state regulations (G.S. 20-127).

Percentage of Visible Light Transmission (VLT%) is used to measure tint darkness. The amount of visible light that can pass through your car’s window is what this term refers to.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In NC?

Dark tints, allowing for 50% to 70% visible light transmission, are in high demand among car aficionados. According to the state, window tinting shall not be darker than 32% of the visible light transmission (VLT). A North Carolina-approved meter is used to take the readings.

Because of this, it is one of the most temperate states in the United States. There are no exceptions to this rule.

The use of window tint with a concentration more than 20 percent is not permitted in any part of the state.

Is 20% Tint Illegal In NC?

It is possible to have a tint percentage as low as 5%, however the most common range is from 10% to 90%. It is unlawful in North Carolina to have a tint of more than 20%.

In the dark, you can see the outside and the inside of a vehicle plainly. UV rays can be damaging, so many people opt for 20% tint as a sort of sun protection.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In North Carolina?

35 percent visibility is acceptable in North Carolina. Window tint violations might result in a police officer pulling you over and issuing you with a citation if you go above the legal limit. Window tint must allow at least 70% of the light to pass through, according to a new legislation.

Windshields are no different. It must be non-reflective and have a maximum height of 5 inches above the windshield or below the AS1 line. It serves as a safeguard against blurred eyesight when driving.

Tinted windows exceeding 35 percent VLT can be seen on some vehicles, while others have completely blacked out windows. Limousines, police cars, and even ambulances all have them.

Before you shudder at the thought, it is important to know that North Carolina window tint rules have exceptions and limitations.

In addition to police cars and limousines, the following vehicles are exempt from the rigorous 32 to 35 percent VLT:

Motor vehicles (G.S. 20-4.01 27f)

Rear-window shipping services for residential and commercial properties (20-4,01, 31),

Passenger vehicles used for business trips or leisure excursions (G.S. 20-4.01 27a)

There are a lot of ambulances around (G.S. 20-4.01 27d2)

Medically exempt vehicles

Vehicles designed to serve several purposes, such as transporting passengers (up to a maximum of 10 people), as well as vehicles with specialized features for usage in remote locations or those based on truck chassis (examples are SUV and mini-van)

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In NC?

There is no one-size-fits-all tint ticket price. For example, did you reject or disregard warnings (fix tickets) to remove the tint? The amount you must pay may also depend on how much darker your window tint is. However, you can generally expect to pay less than $300.

When you get a tint ticket, it’s usually a small infraction, and you may probably reduce the fine if you do something about it right away after being pulled over. If you don’t, you’ll have to fork up more money.

When you’re pulled over and have outstanding tint tickets, the fines will skyrocket. Paying late fees and extra court processing fees can pile up quickly.

Window tint tickets may usually be avoided in three ways. Consult a traffic law professional, ask for an exemption, or plead not guilty in order to resolve the issue.

Window Tint Darkness In North Carolina

More light can pass through a tint film with a higher visible light transmission. Compared to 50 or 70 percent tint, a 5 percent tint is a lot darker.

For Passenger Vehicle

Top five inches of windshield are non-reflective.

A minimum of 35% of the light should be allowed to pass through the front windows.

At least 35% of the light should enter through the backside windows.

Allow at least a third of the light in through the rear window.

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

Outside of the AS1 line of five inches, the windshield is non-reflective

A minimum of 35% of the light should be allowed to pass through the front windows.

Can be used with any light transmission on the back side

Any type of light transmission can be used in the rear window.

Window Tint Reflection In North Carolina

The state of North Carolina has a tight standard for the reflection of window tint.

For Passenger Vehicle

Front Side Window – 20% reflective is ideal.

It should be 20% reflective on the back side of the window.

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

Ideally, the front side window should reflect 20% of the light entering the vehicle.

It should be 20% reflective on the back side of the window.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In North Carolina?

The Drivers Medical Evaluation Program encourages those who are light sensitive and require darker window tinting to apply for a medical exemption certificate.

Your doctor will take care of all the necessary papers. Permits can only be used for a maximum of five years and cannot be exchanged.

Conclusion

In North Carolina, there are still a few restrictions on the use of window tinting. As a general rule, it’s best to familiarize yourself with all applicable laws before tinting your automobile windows. Doing so will allow you to take a joyous road trip at any time of the year.

Category: Car.