Nevada Tint Laws That You Should Know Update 05/2022

Nevada Tint Laws-2

You need to be aware of the latest window-tinting legislation in each state in order to comply with them. If these rules aren’t followed, the consequences can be severe penalties and unpleasant run-ins with the law.

In this essay, I’ll go over the essentials of Nevada’s window tinting regulations and address any questions you might have.

What are we waiting for?

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Nevada?

Nevada Tint Laws-1

Window tinting restrictions were put in place by the state of Nevada in 1993 to enhance the safety of drivers on the road, particularly at night and during misty weather conditions.

A car’s windows, including the windshield, can be tinted in Nevada. The required percentage of Visual Light Transmission (VLT percent) varies by car type, depending on the regulation.

A non-reflective tint on the windshield is permitted, however it must be placed above the AS-1 line indicated by the manufacturer.. For the front side windows, the tint should allow at least 35% of sunlight through.

There are no restrictions on how dark the tint can be on the rear and backside windows, so you can choose any tint darkness of your choice. The use of red and amber tints on any vehicle is strictly prohibited by law.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In NV?

The darkest tint permitted is 35%, which means that the tint must permit more light to enter the car than this percentage. Only the front windows are affected by this rule.

The tint on the windshield must be non-reflective, and it must extend above the AS-1 line, as specified by the manufacturer. The top of the windshield is normally within an inch of this line.

Is 20 Tint Illegal In NV?

Just for medical reasons, a tint of 20% is permitted. However, you’ll have to go through the process of applying for such an exemption.

In this article, we’ll go over how to seek a medical exemption.

Window Tint Darkness In Nevada

The window tinting laws in Nevada are crystal clear on what is required in terms of tint darkness. Glass and tint film are measured as a percentage of the amount of visible light that passes through them. VLT percent is the abbreviation for it.

For Passenger Vehicle

Non-reflective tint on the windshield is permitted, however it must not pass the AS-1 line of the windshield at any time.

For the front windows, 35 percent tint is appropriate, so that more light can enter the vehicle.

There are no restrictions on how dark the tint can be on the back side windows. It’s up to you how dark you want to make the tint.

The tint on the rear glass may be as dark as the driver desires. You have complete control over the degree of darkness you want to impart to your tint.

Sedans, hardtops, convertibles, wagons, coupes, and hatchbacks are common types of passenger cars.

For Multi-Purpose Vehicle

A non-reflective tint can be used on the windshield, however it cannot extend past the AS-1 line.

For the front windows, 35 percent tint is appropriate, so that more light can enter the vehicle.

Side Windows — The tint on the side windows can be as dark as you like. It’s up to you how dark you want to make the tint.

The tint on the rear glass may be as dark as the driver desires. It’s up to you how dark you want to make the tint.

SUVs, minibuses, vans, trucks, and recreational vehicles (RVs) are all examples of vehicles with many uses.

Window Tint Reflection in Nevada

Metallized components are used in the tinting film to reflect light and the heat it generates as it passes through the glass.

For Passenger Vehicle

Side Windows on the Front – The reflectance of tint film is unrestricted by Nevada’s tinting legislation.

Windows on the Rear – The reflectance of tint film is unrestricted by Nevada’s tinting legislation.

For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)

The Front Side Windows – The reflectance of tint film is unrestricted by Nevada’s tinting legislation.

Back windows – Nevada tinting rules have no restrictions on tint film reflectance for the back windows.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Nevada?

If a darker tint is required due to a medical condition, an exception can be granted for window tinting. With a 50 percent tint, the front and rear windows can be darkened by 20 percent; the back windows can be darkened by 5 percent.

Medical exemptions are permitted in Nevada if a doctor advises it as a necessity to manage your health condition. After four years, most medical exemptions expire, although you can ask for a renewal if necessary.

Section 1 of the application form for a driver’s license in the state of Nevada will ask for your personal information, including your name, address, and phone number.

Registered and licensed Nevada physicians enter the second section of the form. There must be a diagnosis and a prescribed VLT percentage for this.

In order to calculate the license’s expiration date, the doctor will say if the condition is long-term or short-term.

The application is reviewed by the department of public safety, and if it fits all the criteria, it is approved. To avoid unpleasant interactions with highway patrol officers, you should always keep it in your car at all times.

It’s also important to keep in mind that if you ever decide to sell your automobile, you won’t be able to keep your window-tint medical exemption. As a result, you’ll need to notify the right authorities.

Conclusion

If you want to tint your car’s windows, Nevada’s rules are flexible enough to allow you to do so. Except for red and amber tint, you can use any color of tint.

These tinting laws might be confusing at times, so if you have any questions, take your time to study them and choose experienced tinting professionals who know exactly what they’re doing when it comes to following the law.

Category: Car.