In order to apply window tinting in New Hampshire, you should first familiarize yourself with the state’s regulations. This manner, you may enjoy the tints on your automobile and the protection, privacy, and comfort they provide while avoiding any legal issues.
Let’s take a look at New Hampshire’s Window Tint Laws and regulations.
Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In New Hampshire?
The state of New Hampshire prohibits the use of tinted windows and windshields. Window tinting was made illegal in 1989, more than three decades ago.
Tinting of the top six inches of windshields is restricted to non-reflective tint with a VLT of 35%, for example.
There can be no tint on your front side windows.
What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In NH?
Only 35 percent of a vehicle’s color can be lawfully tinted in New Hampshire. People with impairments or medical conditions can apply for window tinting, however it’s just for rear windows at this time.
Is 20 Tint Illegal In NH?
New Hampshire does not allow 20-tinted windows. A 20 percent tint is a deep black, so unless you were quite close to the vehicle, it would be difficult to see out the window.
You should stay away from this unless you have a doctor’s permission to see it because it’s far too dark for New Hampshire.
Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In New Hampshire?
The state of New Hampshire does allow you to be pulled over for tinted windows.
A New Hampshire state trooper pulled over a vehicle because he thought he couldn’t see the driver due of the vehicle’s tinted windows.
For all save medical reasons, window tinting is illegal in the state of New Hampshire, according to material posted on the NH State Trooper website.
How Much is a Tint Ticket in NH?
The cost of a New Hampshire Tint Ticket appears to be $93, as per the New Hampshire Uniform Fines Schedule. Please be aware that this fee is subject to change according on the city or county in which you reside. As a result, it would be regarded as a stationary infraction.
Window Tint Darkness In New Hampshire
Here, you will discover information on the blackness of New Hampshire’s window tints for a variety of automobiles.
Minivans, sedans, crossover SUVs and convertibles are all examples of passenger vehicles that many of us drive. Multi-purpose vehicles, on the other hand, include pickup trucks, full-size SUVs, utility vans, and other work vehicles.
You may measure the amount of sunlight passing through your windows by using VLT, or Visible Light Transmission.
If a percentage is used to describe a window, it is a VLT measurement. A 20 percent tint, for instance, allows for the passage of 20 percent of the visible light through the film of the tint.
For Passenger Vehicle
VLT of 35 percent is authorized on the upper six inches of the windshield. –Unreflective tint
The front side windows are not allowed to be tinted at all.
Light must be allowed to pass through the back side windows at least 35% of the time.
The rear window must let in at least 35% of the light.
For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)
The upper six inches of the windshield may be tinted with an unreflective tint with a VLT of 35%.
Front-side windows may not be tinted. Front-side windows must remain clear.
Windows on the backside must let in at least 35% of the available light.
Rear window: More than 35% of the light must enter through this window.
New Hampshire does not have any limits on the color of window tinting in the state.
As a result, if you were granted an exemption, you can choose whatever color you like. Law enforcement should be informed of lawful tinting via stickers, but they aren’t compelled to do so.
Window Tint Reflection In New Hampshire
The increased seclusion that reflective window tint offers drivers and passengers is well worth the cost. These reflecting tints allow you to see out of your car windows, but anyone standing outside your car can’t see in.
You can use them to keep the heat out if you live in a place with a lot of sunshine. Unfortunately, New Hampshire does not allow these.
For Passenger Vehicle
Windows on the Front and Rear: It is forbidden to use reflected or metallic hues in this application.
The use of reflected or metallic tints on the backside windows is strictly prohibited.
For MPV (Multi-Purpose Vehicle)
Windows on the Front Side: There can be no reflected or metallic tints.
There are no permissible reflected or metallic tints on the back side windows.
How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In New Hampshire?
We’re going to check out the official New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles website for this.
It is possible to get a medical exemption for window tinting, but the application must be dated within six months and you must provide photocopied car registrations.
The waiver allows you to bring up to two automobiles. The information can be sent or mailed to the DMV.
You will receive a two-year waiver once your application has been granted.
A fresh application signed by your doctor and copies of your vehicle registration must be submitted within six months of the original submission to renew your Tinted Window Medical Waiver.
You won’t have to pay anything to get this waiver.
The New Hampshire tinting laws have been thoroughly explained to you. New Hampshire residents can legally and safely place and enjoy tints on their vehicles with the help of this information. This ensures that both drivers and police officers are protected on the road.