Updated at: 04-06-2022 - By: Lucas

Window tint has been a popular addition to many cars for a long time, since it helps you see better and keeps your car cool.

There are different laws about window tint, such as the amount of tint and how it works with the location of your car window.

Visible Light Transmission (VLT) and Visible Light Reflection (VLR) also have a big effect on how the tint percentage is measured.

These numbers have to do with how much tint can get into or reflect off your car.

Let’s talk about some of Ohio’s laws about window tint.

What Are The Ohio Tint Laws?

ohio window tint laws

Each state has its own laws about how your car’s windows can be tinted, so it’s important to know what those laws are in your state.

In Ohio, the tint law is different for the front, sides, and back of the car.

These laws went into effect in 2004, and the whole state still follows them today.

It’s also important to know that most states have different rules for different kinds of vehicles.

There might be different rules about window tinting for passenger cars and other kinds of cars.

Lucky for the state of Ohio, the limits for tinting in these two categories are the same.

Front Windshield

The tint on the front windshield can only cover the top 5 inches and it can’t be reflective.

It is important for your safety and the safety of others that you can see out of the windshield.

This means that you can’t tint the whole windshield.

Front Side Windows

In Ohio, you can have up to 50 percent tint on the front side windows of your car.

People usually do this to keep the sun out of the car, which helps keep it cool or makes it easier to see.

This 50 percent tint is dark enough to keep the sun out, but light enough that other people can still see the driver and front passenger.

Back Seat Side Windows

The side windows on the back seat can have any amount of tint.

There are no limits on the amount of tint because people in the back seat don’t talk much to other drivers.

Rear Window

The back window can have any amount of tint.

This also keeps heat and sunlight from getting into the car, which helps keep it cool when it’s hot outside.

You can also tint the back window to protect the inside of your car and keep it from cracking and fading too quickly.

Do Ohio Tint Laws Recognize Medical Exemptions?

Ohio does not give medical exemptions for cars that are registered in Ohio.

This is one way in which the laws in Ohio are different from those in other states.

In some states, people with certain conditions that make it so they can’t expose their skin to UV rays for long periods of time are automatically exempt from the law.

You can talk to your Ohio State Representative if you want to start a petition against this law in Ohio.

Can You Get Pulled Over for Tinted Windows in Ohio?

ohio window tint laws-3

In Ohio, can you get pulled over for tint?

Yes, that’s the answer.

If a police officer thinks that your car’s window tinting doesn’t follow state laws, they can pull you over.

Having window tinting that is against the law is considered a misdemeanour moving violation, and you can be fined for it.

Officers will use a metre to measure how much light gets through your windows and make sure you have the right level of tint.

Your tinting must also be certified, and the certification decal must always be visible.

In the state of Ohio, it is also against the law to sell a car with window tinting that doesn’t follow the rules.

Additional Rules and Regulations in Ohio

Window tinting can be helpful in many ways, like:

Keeping your car cool when it’s hot out

giving drivers more visibility in sunny places, and

UV rays can damage your skin.

Before you decide to tint your windows in Ohio, you should know that the state has added a few more rules about it.

What Colors Of Tint are Approved?

Different shades of window tinting are made by different companies.

In Ohio, you can tint your windows any colour you want.

Does the Film Have to be Certified?

Before the film can be used in Ohio, it must be approved by the company that made it.

Before you get your windows tinted, you should make sure your dealer uses certified film and ask to see proof of this.

How Do I Display the Certification?

In Ohio, you have to put the proof that your windows are tinted legally between the film and the glass on your window.

You have to put this on every window that has tint.

Can I Be Fined?

If you use a film that isn’t certified or don’t tint your car at the right level, the police can give you a fine.

This is a misdemeanour that will cost you about $120 between the fine and court costs.

Price of Tinting in Ohio

Window tinting can cost between $200 and $300 in Ohio.

The price can be different depending on what kind of tinting you want for your car and what kind of car you have.

Final Thoughts

With the laws and rules about window tinting in Ohio as they are now, there is no reason why you shouldn’t tint the windows of your car.

As long as you follow the rules, show your certification, and don’t break the law, you can make any changes you want to your car.