Oregon is the ninth largest state and has a wide range of climates, from cool and humid on the coast to semi-oceanic in the Willamette Valley.
If you live in an area that is hotter and drier, you might want to tint your windows to make driving more comfortable.
But is it safe to drive with tinted windows? Can you get pulled over in Oregon because you have tinted windows?
Let’s look at the laws about window tinting in Oregon so you can make a good choice.
Oregon State Law and VLT
With the Visible Light Transmission, or VLT, which is given as a percentage, we can figure out how much sunlight gets into your car.
If you don’t have any window tint, most or all of the light could come into your car, giving you a VLT close to 100 percent.
But most tinted windows let between 25% and 50% of the light in, so the inside of your car will be much darker and cooler.
Oregon’s window tilt laws were passed in 2003 to make driving as safe and enjoyable as possible for everyone.
VLT is an important measurement here, and you’ll need to make sure that the level of tint you buy from the manufacturer or dealer is right.
Oregon Window Tint Laws for Passenger and Multi-Purpose Vehicles
You’ll need to know which VLT is allowed for which windows before you buy tint.
This depends on what kind of car you have. For example, sedans have to follow stricter rules than SUVs and vans.
You can tint the top 6 inches of your windshield, no matter what kind of car you have, as long as the film you choose isn’t reflective.
You can also put a tint on the front passenger windows that is at least 35% VLT.
The 35 percent VLT limit only applies to back passenger windows and the back window of sedans. SUVs and vans don’t have this limit.
If you drive a vehicle that can be used for more than one thing, you can put any kind of tint on these windows.
Further Regulations and Laws in Oregon
Aside from how much visible light the film lets through, how reflective it is is another thing that affects safety.
Oregon bans window tint that is more than 13 percent reflective because windows that reflect light back at other cars can cause confusion and accidents.
Make sure to ask the seller about this when you buy film so that you can meet both the VLT and the reflectiveness rules.
By law, the manufacturer has to give you a certificate that says how much light gets through and how much gets reflected. You don’t have to put a sticker on your car to show that it has legal tinting.
You should also remember that if any window behind the driver is tinted, you’ll need two side mirrors.
Also, Oregon has very strict rules about the colours that can be used.
You can’t get a red, gold, yellow, amber, or black tint, though.
Window Tint Laws and Medical Exemptions
Most people tint their windows because it looks nice and makes them easier to clean. However, some people need this feature because of their health.
If you have a condition that makes you more sensitive to sunlight and UV rays, you might want to get a medical exemption for darker window tint.
This could happen if you have Cockayne Syndrome, Bloom Syndrome, Albinism, Systemic Lupus Erythematosus, or a similar condition.
Oregon does allow these kinds of exemptions, but you’ll have to show that you qualify.
Talk to your doctor about getting a prescription, but remember that they can only help you if you really need one because of a health problem.
Now that you know the most important rules and regulations, you might be wondering if it’s worth it to follow them.
Do you really need window tint, and if so, if it’s too dark, will you get pulled over?
Read on to find out the answers to these questions that are often asked.
Is Window Tint a Necessary Feature in Oregon?
Different people will tell you different things, and it also depends on where you live in Oregon and how sensitive you are to heat and light.
But saving money on air conditioning and preventing glare are not the only good reasons to tint your windows.
The fact that thieves won’t be able to see what you have in your car is a big reason why many people decide to get this feature.
It can also give you more privacy and make driving better, especially if you have kids in the car.
If you get into an accident, the glue on the film could keep the broken glass from flying out and hurting someone.
Can You Get Pulled Over for Tint in Oregon?
You can’t go to jail for tinting your windows wrong, but you might have to pay a fine for a Class B traffic offence.
This is usually $360, but if you sell or install illegal window tint, you will get in more trouble.
Even though you can get pulled over for having the wrong tint, the laws aren’t enforced the same way everywhere in Oregon, and you’re more likely to get a ticket if you do something like speed.
The laws about window tinting in Oregon are very specific and take into account not only the VLT but also how reflective and what colour your film is.
You don’t need a sticker to prove that your tint is legal, but police officers have special tools that can measure this, so it’s best to follow the rules.
If you follow the tips above, your ride will be safer and more fun, and you won’t risk getting a ticket.