People shade their windows for a variety of reasons, including those with light-sensitive medical disorders like albinism and psoriasis.
Why do it anyway?
You can protect your eyes from the glare of the sun and lower the temperature of your car with window tinting. Besides protecting your car’s upholstery from fading from the sun, it can also hide the contents of the vehicle from view.
It is possible to keep your windows from shattering in an accident if the tinting is done professionally by a professional.
The amount of light that can be transmitted through a tint, also known as visible light transmission, is regulated differently in each state (VLT)
As a starting point, let’s look at the window tint regulations in Oregon!
Can You Have Tinted Windows And Windshield In Oregon?
You can have tinted windows in Oregon if you comply with the state’s window tinting regulations and obtain a certificate from your tint installer specifying the light transmission and reflectance of your vehicle.
Window tint darkening is proportional to how much visible light transmission (VLT) it allows. A tint with a poor light transmission rate allows just a small amount of light to flow through.
If you want to legally apply a dark tint to your car, the least amount of light that can flow through it is 35 percent. According to Oregon’s window tinting legislation, anything less than that is unlawful.
When a 20 tint is applied to a window shade, only 20% of light is allowed to pass through. This is below the legal limit in Oregon, and you could face legal repercussions.
Will You Be Stopped For Tinted Windows In OR?
If an officer suspects criminal activity occurring behind your tinted windows, they have the authority to stop and question you. Light meters are used if they think your tint is too dark, and they can establish if the percentage is legal.
Minor crime, Class B. Driving a dark-tinted car is regarded as such by law. You’ll be charged $360, but you won’t go to jail for it.
How Dark Can Your Window Tint Be In Oregon?
Window tint darkness in Oregon is determined by the classification of your vehicle. As a result, cars are either classified as passenger cars or as multipurpose vehicles under the law.
It is illegal to operate a vehicle with more than ten passengers unless it is built to be a “passenger vehicle.”
Multipurpose vehicles, motorbikes, and trailers are not included in this category. Convertibles, hardtops, and station wagons all come into this classification.
Window tint darkness for passenger cars in Oregon is limited to the following values under Oregon law:
Tinting the top 6 inches of the windshield with a non-reflective film is legal in most states.
Front Side Windows: The tint on the front side windows should let in at least 35% of the light that comes into the room.
Windows on the backside: The tint on the backside of the glass should let more light than 35%.
The tint on the rear glass should allow at least 35% of the light to get through.
According to state law, a multipurpose vehicle in Oregon is a truck-based vehicle with off-road capabilities and a capacity of ten or fewer passengers.
SUVs, RVs, pickup trucks, panel vans, sports utility vehicles, and minibuses all come under this group.
Keep an eye out for any restrictions on car tinting that apply to multifunctional vehicles.
On the top 6 inches of the windscreen, apply a non-reflective tint.
Apply a tint to the front side windows that lets in at least 35% more light.
Windows on the Rear: There is no restriction in this category.
In the back window, anything will do.
How Reflective Can Your Window Tint Be In Oregon?
If you want to avoid eye strain while driving, consider installing a reflective tint on your car’s windows. UV rays are deflected by the tint, which also shields your car’s interior and your skin.
Depending on the make and model of your vehicle, you may only use a particular proportion of reflective tint.
Let’s have a look at a few examples:
For Passenger Vehicles
Passenger vehicles are defined as those that can carry fewer than ten persons.
When it comes to reflective tinting, the following is what the law says in Oregon:
Front-side windows must have a reflectivity of no more than 13 percent.
Reflective percentages for backside windows should not exceed 13%.
For Multipurpose Vehicles
This is the case if your car is equipped for off-road use and is based on a truck chassis. RVs, SUVs, pickups, and minibuses all come within this group.
Reflective tinting for multipurpose vehicles is strictly prohibited in Oregon under state law.
Laws in Oregon mandate that the reflecting percentage of both front and back side windows cannot exceed 13 percent.
Ways To Have Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Oregon
Those with light-sensitive conditions can receive a lower-than-35 percent VLT tint under Oregon window tint legislation. In order to get a darker tint, you might ask your doctor to write a statement or prescription stating why you need it.
It’s possible to apply for a medical exemption with this statement, but you’ll need to have your vehicle registered in your name or the name of a legal guardian or family member. In the event that a police officer requests to see your authorisation, you must have it with you at all times.
Having a car tint installed can help shield your eyes and skin from the sun’s damaging ultraviolet rays, making it a worthwhile investment. According to Oregon’s car-tinting laws, the lowest percentage of visible light allowed to pass through your vehicle’s windows must be 35 percent.
There should be no more than a 13 percent reflected light proportion. You should have your car’s light transmission and reflectance certified by a registered tint installation.