Pennsylvania Window Tint Laws That You Need Know Update 06/2022

pennsylvania window tint laws-2

Window tints look very cool and make cars look good.

Most sports cars and trucks have tinted windows when they arrive at the dealership.

But tint isn’t just for looks. It can keep UV rays from hurting you and block out bright sunlight.

It can also help keep the inside of your car from getting too hot.

But each state has its own laws and rules, which are important to follow.

Below, we’ll talk about PA tint laws, what you should think about when tinting your windows, and the question everyone wants to know: “Can you get pulled over in Pennsylvania for tint?”

What are the Tint Laws in Pennsylvania?

pennsylvania window tint laws-1

There are different rules for each type of vehicle.

When it comes to PA tint laws, most vehicles fall into one of two categories.

These are either passenger cars (sedans) or vehicles that can be used for more than one thing (SUVs and vans).

Passenger Vehicles

Passenger cars must follow the following laws about tint:

Front Windshield: The top 3 inches of the windshield can be any shade you want. If not, it must let in at least 70% of the light.

Up to 70% tint is fine on the side windows of the front seat.

You can have up to 70 percent tint on the side windows of the back seat.

Up to 70% tint is fine for the back window.

Multi-Purpose Vehicles

Laws about the front windshield and front side windows of multi-use vehicles are the same.

When it comes to the side windows and back window of the back seat, the rules are different than for passenger cars.

Front Windshield: The top 3 inches of the windshield can be any shade you want. If not, it must let in at least 70% of the light.

Up to 70% tint is fine on the side windows of the front seat.

You can put any tint on the back seat side windows.

You can put any tint on the back window.

In addition to these rules, your windows cannot have any surfaces that are reflective or made of metal.

This rule applies to both passenger vehicles and vehicles with more than one use.

VLT and How it Applies to Law

The percentage of visible light that gets through a window tint is used to figure out how dark it is (VLT percent ).

This number shows how much visible light gets through the window and film when they are put together.

Can You Get Pulled Over for Tint in Pennsylvania?

pennsylvania window tint laws-3

State troopers in Pennsylvania can pull you over if your car doesn’t follow the rules and laws for the whole state.

It is important to know the Pennsylvania tint laws for your type of vehicle. If you don’t, you could be pulled over and given a ticket that comes with a big fine.

Even though there is no minimum fine in PA, you can expect to pay up to $110 if you get pulled over with tinted windows that are against the law.

If you break the law, you will also have to remove the tint from your windows.

Medical Exceptions From Window Tints Law in Pennsylvania

Medical exemptions for window tint let you install special window tint if a doctor tells you to.

Most of the time, the Department of Transportation gives a certificate of exemption to car owners whose health is very bad.

Medical window tints can be used for the following conditions:

Blood Syndrome

Albinism

Solar Urticaria

Cockayne Syndrome

Pigmentosum

Both the department and the Medical Advisory Board must check your medical condition to see if you qualify for the medical exemption.

To get an exemption, you must talk to the Medical Unit of the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation.

If your request is approved, the Department of Transportation will give you a certificate of exemption, which you should always keep in your car.

Additional Rules and Regulations

Even if you do everything on this list, you may still break the law.

When you tint your windows, you should also think about a few other things.

The following are some of these requirements:

If your back window is tinted, the law says you have to put up two side mirrors.

In Pennsylvania, you can use any tint colour, but you can’t have reflective or metallic materials put in.

In some states, the people who make and sell film have to prove that it is safe. This is not a rule in Pennsylvania.

Pennsylvania, on the other hand, requires that you put a sticker on your car that shows that your tint meets the state’s laws.

Why Are There Tint Laws in Pennsylvania?

When cars are tinted wrong, they can be dangerous for both the driver and other people on the road.

Because it’s hard to see through heavily tinted windows, it’s unlikely that other drivers will be able to see any signs or hints from the tinted car’s driver. This could lead to accidents.

Heavily tinted windows make it hard for people outside the car to see inside, and they can also block the driver’s view from inside the car.

During the day, there may be enough light coming in through the window that it doesn’t pose as much of a threat. However, during heavy storms, at night, or when driving through a tunnel, there may not be enough light to see the road clearly.

Conclusion

If you follow the rules and laws of Pennsylvania, there’s no reason why you shouldn’t tint your windows.

They can give your car a cool look, protect you from harmful UV rays, and even make the inside last longer.

Make sure you know the laws before you get your windows tinted, and before you hit the road, have a professional check that your tinting meets the state’s rules.