What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In TN? Update 05/2022

tennessee-tint-laws-2

Depending on where you live, you may want to check with your state’s regulations on window tinting before you get started. The amount of car window tint that is legal in Tennessee is regulated by the state.

The Window Tint Law of Tennessee and the most frequently asked questions concerning the law will be addressed in this article. Additionally, if you have a specific medical problem, I’ll go over how to obtain a medical exemption.

Are You Allowed To Have Tinted Windshield And Windows In Tennessee?

tennessee-tint-laws-1

At the very least, your windshield should let in 70% of the light it receives. The AS-1 line, on the other hand, allows for virtually any shade of darkness. In order to maintain consistency, both passenger cars and multi-purpose vehicles should adhere to this standard.

Front and back windows should be tinted to let in more than 35% of the sun’s rays. More than a third of light should be allowed in via your rear window. Front and rear windows cannot have a reflected or shiny look.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In TN?

You can only buy 35 percent VLT window tinting if you’re thinking about getting one for your car. In addition, your windshield should allow at least 70% of the light to pass through. It’s up to you what color tint you want on your windows.

Is 20 Tint Illegal In TN?

Tennessee does indeed forbid the use of 20 Tint. The greatest amount of windshield tint you can have is 70%. There is a maximum of 35 percent VLT allowed on all of your car’s windows for both passenger and multi-purpose cars.

In addition, the state of Tennessee forbids the use of mirrored or metallic finishes on your home’s windows. A certification sticker proving that your window tint complies with the Tennesse Window Tint Law is also necessary.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Tennessee?

In Tennessee, if your window tint is less than 35%, you may be subject to a traffic stop for a possible infraction. Window Tint violations can still result in a ticket, even if the only reason for the stop is to look for evidence of criminal conduct in your vehicle.

Your car’s VLT is the amount of light that passes through the vehicle’s interior. Tinting with a lower VLT percentage indicates that less light is able to flow through. The state of Tennessee’s Window Tint Law prohibits tints with a light transmittance of less than 35%.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In TN?

Fines can be imposed if you are found to be in violation of the Tennessee Window Tint Law. Your fine can range from $130 to $300, depending on the specifics of your case. It can cost up to $138 if you see a judge.

Lower than 35% is the lowest you can go without a medical exemption or certificate. If you are exempt due to a medical condition, you must have a physician issue a certification and display it prominently in your car at all times.

Window Tint Darkness In Tennessee

On the AS-1 line, you can apply any tint darkness you want, but you must allow at least 70% of the light to pass through your windshield. Sedans, SUVs and vans are all covered under this rule.

Aside from that, all of your windows should be tinted so that they let in more than 35% of the available light. You can tint your windows in whatever hue you like. As long as you keep your front and back windows from seeming like mirrors, you should be fine.

For Passenger Vehicles

The tint on your windshield should enable at least 70% of the sun’s rays to pass through. The AS-1 line, on the other hand, allows you to employ any shade of darkness.

Front Side Windows: For maximum visibility, your front side windows should let in at least 35% of the available light. A certification sticker is also necessary to prove that your window tint is in compliance with the law.

Passenger cars’ rear windows should have a tint that lets in at least 35% of the available light. Windows can be tinted in any color you like because there are no color restrictions.

Window tint must let at least 35% of light into the rear passenger side windows.

For Multi-purpose Vehicles or MPV

The tint on your windshield should enable at least 70% of the sun’s rays to pass through. The AS-1 line, on the other hand, allows you to employ any shade of darkness.

Front Side Windows: Your front side windows should allow more than 35% of light to enter for vision in multi-purpose cars. You must also obtain a certification sticker to show that your window tint is in compliance with the law..

Windows on the backside: Windows on the backside should let in more than 35% of the available light. Windows can be tinted in any color you like because there are no color restrictions. Having side mirrors on tinted autos is not mandated by law.

For multi-purpose automobiles, your rear passenger side window tint must allow more than 35% of light in.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Tennessee?

A medical exemption can be granted if you have a medical condition that is adversely affected by exposure to UV rays. Your doctor will need to certify that you have a medical condition that demands a deeper tint on your vehicle before you may use it.

The department will assess your certification and begin the evaluation process once you’ve submitted it.

If your medical certification is found to be valid, you will be given a unique sticker to display on your car, indicating that you have a medical exemption.

You can learn more about the medical exemption by visiting this page.

Conclusion

According to the Tennesse Window Tint Law, you cannot have windows with less than 35% tint. On the AS-1 series, you can add any shade of tint you like, as long as it lets in more than 70% of the light.

Window Tint Requirements in Tennessee can result in a traffic stop and a fine. A physician’s certification is required if you have a medical condition that renders you particularly susceptible to UV light.

Category: Car.