Many people choose tinted windows because they look good and are useful. They can make your car look better and work better.
But what are the rules and laws in the area? And in Washington, can you get pulled over for tinted windows?
Let’s talk about the different window tint laws in Washington and what could happen if you don’t follow them.
Washington State Law and VLT
Visible Light Transmission is the most important thing to look at when deciding what kind of window tint to get because it shows how much sunlight can get through your windows and into your car.
The darker your windows will be, the less VLT you have.
For example, a VLT of 10% lets in only 1% of the total light, while a VLT of 90% lets in 9/10ths of the light, or almost all of it.
In the state of Washington, there are rules about how dark your window tint can be.
This depends on the type of car and the window. Before you buy, make sure you know if you have a passenger car or a multi-use car.
Washington Window Tint Laws for Passenger and Multi-Purpose Vehicles
In Washington, the top 6 inches of the windshield of any car can have a tint that doesn’t reflect light.
After that, the laws depend on the kind of car you have.
You can tint the front and back passenger windows of a sedan, as well as the back window.
Local rules say that all of them should have a VLT of more than 24 percent.
If you own an SUV or a van, you can also tint the front and back passenger windows and the back window, but only the front side windows are subject to the 24 percent VLT rule.
On this kind of vehicle, there is no limit on how dark the other seats can be.
Further Regulations and Laws in Washington
In addition to VLT, there are also rules about how reflective your windows can be. This is because surfaces that are too reflective can distract other drivers and cause an accident.
All cars have to follow the same rule, which is that the front and back side windows can’t be more than 35% reflective.
Also, you should know that red, yellow, or amber tints are not allowed in this state.
If your back window is tinted, you will need to put in two side mirrors.
When you buy film from a dealer, you should check to see if it comes from a company that certifies the film they sell. This is another legal requirement.
Lastly, you will need to put a sticker that says “tint” between the film and the glass on the driver’s side window.
Window Tint Laws and Medical Exemptions
All of these rules apply to everyone, but if you have a condition that changes how your skin reacts to UV light, you may be able to get out of them.
If you have Systemic Lupus Erythematosus, Xeroderma Pigmentosum, Albinism, Solar Urticaria, or a similar medical condition, you can probably get darker tinted windows, which can keep you from getting severe symptoms related to your condition.
In Washington, people with medical conditions can get out of voting, so talk to your doctor about this.
You should be able to get a prescription for window tint, but only if you have a serious condition that affects your health and safety in a big way.
Now that you know the most important rules and regulations about window tinting in Washington, you may be wondering if this is the right choice for you and what will happen if you break the rules.
Read on to learn more about why you might want to get tinted windows that meet the rules in your area.
Is Window Tint the Right Choice for Me?
You are the only one who can decide if window tinting is worth it for you.
If your skin is sensitive to UV rays or you often get blinded while driving, you should get tinted windows to make driving safer.
People who drive for long periods of time often don’t realise how much damage UV rays can cause. If you drive a lot, you should look into this option.
Not only are tinted windows safer, but they can also make driving more fun and save you money because they keep out a lot of heat in the summer.
So, you won’t have to use the air conditioner as much, which is good for your wallet and the environment.
Thieves may also be less likely to break into your car if the windows are dark because they won’t be able to see what you have inside.
Can You Get Pulled Over for Tint in Washington?
In Washington, tinted windows are a primary offence, which means that police can pull you over for this reason alone.
Officers will have tools with them that can accurately measure how dark the tint is. If you don’t follow the rules, you could get a $124 fine.
The main reason why the Washington Police Department is so strict about window tint is so that people outside the car can see inside. For example, if you’re at a crosswalk and people want to know if you’ve seen them, you don’t want your windows tinted.
You will also be safer if you can see the road well.
Window tint can help keep your car cool in the summer and protect you from getting sunburned while driving.
The laws in Washington about window tinting depend on the type of car and window, but they let you drive more comfortably while still following the rules.