Can you get pulled over in West Virginia for tint?
Many car owners think about tinting their cars for reasons like privacy, looks, and protection from the sun.
Before you decide to tint your car’s windows, you should find out what the laws are in your state and how they will affect your decision.
West Virginia’s laws on window tinting spell out the rules for drivers of both passenger cars and big trucks.
When Did Window Tint Laws Come Into Effect in West Virginia?
West Virginia’s first window tint law was passed in 1991. It gave drivers standard rules that limit certain kinds of tint.
The law says how dark the tint can be, how much light can be reflected, and how certain windows can be treated.
After this law was first put into place, more details were added, such as specific percentage levels for tints.
Legal Window Tint Limits in West Virginia
Visible light transmission, or VLT, is the amount of light that can get through a window that has been tinted.
West Virginia lets people tint their windows, but they must let at least 35% of the light through.
All windows on the passenger side of the car can have a 35 percent tint.
The rules are different for passenger vehicles and multi-use vehicles.
Rules for Tinting Passenger and Multi-Purpose Vehicles
For cars and sedans, the 35 percent dark tint only applies to the windows on the passenger side of the car.
You can only tint the top five inches of the front and back windows.
The colour must not be shiny.
Some SUVs, vans, and trucks (multi-purpose vehicles) can have 35 percent dark tint on the passenger side windows and any level of dark tint on the side windows closest to the back and the back windows.
Legal Limits on Reflective Tints
Some tints cut down on heat and glare from the sun.
West Virginia lets people use anti-glare tints that aren’t more than 20% reflective.
This is the limit that the law sets for all side windows for passengers.
20 percent applies to all windows on all types of vehicles, so a reflective tint that is higher than 20 percent is not allowed.
If you want to use this treatment, make sure the company who makes it follows the window tint laws in your state.
What Happens If a Driver is Pulled Over for Tinted Windows?
Can you get pulled over in West Virginia for having tint?
If this happens, you must make sure your windows are tinted in accordance with the laws of your state.
If this is not true, you will be charged with a misdemeanour and fined up to $200.
Before you get your car’s windows tinted, you should always check with your local DMV to make sure the company doing the work is reputable and knows the laws in West Virginia about window tinting.
Medical Exemptions for Window Tint Treatments
In some situations, a darker tint or a tint that is darker than the legal limit is allowed, but only in certain medical situations.
You have to put a sticker on your car to show that its tint is legal in West Virginia.
Between the glass and the film on each of your car’s treated windows, you should be able to see the sticker.
What Is Required for a Medical Exemption?
West Virginia lets people with certain medical conditions get out of having to use some kinds of window tints.
The driver must have a signed affidavit from a licenced doctor or optometrist that explains why the exemption is needed.
It must be signed and say that a darker tint is needed because of a medical condition.
This affidavit may be in the hands of the driver’s legal guardian.
Window Tint Manufacturers Must Provide Certification
Before you pay for window tinting, make sure the company that makes it has a certificate that shows the film meets the state’s rules.
They have to show proof to the driver that a certified film or tint was used.
This certificate will not only make sure that you get a window treatment that is legal, but it will also keep the police from stopping you.
Additional Regulations in West Virginia for Tinted Windows
There are a number of important laws about tinted windows, like which colour can be used and whether or not you need side mirrors.
If your car’s back windows are tinted, you must have two side mirrors on each side to make sure you can see well.
Tints can only be made with a limited number of colours.
Yellow, red, and amber are not allowed as window tints, so you can’t use them.
Every other colour is allowed.
Reviewing Window Tint Laws with Local Authorities
Before you pay to have window tint put on, you should always check with local authorities or the DMV if you aren’t sure about tint laws.
This will make sure you don’t get pulled over or get a ticket for not following the rules of the state.
If you use both a multi-purpose vehicle and a passenger vehicle, it’s important to know what each type of car or van can and can’t do.
West Virginia’s window tinting laws, like those of other states, may change over time.
Even though this probably won’t happen often and changes may be small, it’s always best to check your state’s laws to make sure you’re following them.
It’s also important to stay up-to-date if you move out of state or travel a lot, since each state has different laws about how to apply window tint.