Updated at: 13-06-2022 - By: Lucas

If you want to tint your windows but don’t know what the laws are in Wyoming, this is for you.

To stay on the right side of the law, you’ll need to follow certain rules.

But if you know what you’re doing and have some knowledge, you can drive around with tinted windows and have no problems at all.

What You Need to Know About Wyoming Window Tint Laws

wyoming tint laws-1

Here’s what you should know about Wyoming’s window tint laws if you’re a driver.

The Rules of VLT (Visible Light Transmission) for Wyoming

The law says that a certain amount of light must be able to get through the windows.

This is called the VLT, which stands for “Visible Light Transmission.” Each state has its own rules for this, and Wyoming is no different.

Some states have higher legal limits for VLT, which means that more light has to be able to come through the windows.

For instance, a tint of 80 percent lets 80 percent of light through.

This VLT is higher.

A lower VLT, on the other hand, would be a 10% tint, which means that only 10% of light can get through.

This means that your window tint will be darker.

So, basically, a high VLT means more light gets into your car, and a low VLT means less light does.

Can You Get Pulled Over for Tint in Wyoming?

Yes, an officer can pull you over if he or she thinks your tint might be too dark for Wyoming.

And if you aren’t within the legal limits, you can get a big fine. If you aren’t careful, about $150 will be taken out of your pocket.

But you won’t have to pay any fees if you follow the rules of Wyoming’s tint laws.

The Two Types of Vehicles Regarding Tint Laws

When trying to figure out what tint is legal for your car, you should first look at what kind of car you have.

The first kind is a car for people to ride in.

These are regular cars, but they have less space for both people and things.

When you think about this, think about hatchbacks, sedans, and convertibles.

The second kind is called a “multi-purpose vehicle.” These are made to carry a lot of people and heavy things.

SUVs, pickup trucks, vans, and other similar vehicles fall into this category.

But if you want to be sure, you can look at the federal ID label on the left front door of your car.

It will make it clear whether your car is a passenger car or a multi-purpose vehicle.

wyoming tint laws-3

For passenger cars, the rules are pretty easy to understand.

After getting your car tinted, you can drive around safely as long as you remember the key number (28%).

The top 5 inches of the front windshield can have non-reflective tint.

There can be up to 28% tint on the front side windows

The back windows can be tinted up to 28%.

There can be up to 28% tint on the back windows.

If you have this kind of car, you can be a little less careful.

As long as you don’t mess up the front side windows, you can pretty much tint the rest to your heart’s content.

The top 5 inches of the front windshield can have non-reflective tint.

There can be up to 28% tint on the front side windows

You can put any tint on the back windows.

You can put any tint on the back window.

You’ll also need to be careful about how reflective your passenger vehicle is. You don’t want to go around blinding people, after all.

These are called “films,” and percentages are also used to figure out what is legal.

Up to 20% of light can come in through the front side windows.

Up to 20% of light can come in through the back windows.

Luckily, the rules are pretty much the same as for regular cars.

As long as you don’t go over the 20 percent rule, you should be fine.

Up to 20% of light can come in through the front side windows.

Up to 20% of light can come in through the back windows.

Making Sure Your Vehicle Is Tint Certified

Some states need you to have an official tinting sticker, but Wyoming does not.

So don’t worry about getting proof or anything like that for your windows.

After you tint your windows, you’re pretty much done.

Also, window films made in the state of Wyoming don’t need to be certified.

This makes it a little bit riskier to buy tint films for your windows, so be smart when getting work done on your car.

Final Considerations When Tinting Your Vehicle

When you tint your windows, you may need to buy extra mirrors.

If you get your back window tinted in Wyoming, you’ll need to get two side mirrors.

But besides that, you don’t have to buy these extra mirrors if you don’t want to.

Amber and yellow are also not allowed in Wyoming, but only on your front windshield.

You can use these colours anywhere else you want.

The last thing you will want to know is if you can get a medical exemption for tinted windows.

Yes, but you’ll need a signed document from a doctor or other medical professional to prove you need it.

But you’ll only need this if your doctor says you need more than 28 percent tint.

With all of this in mind, you should be ready to tint your car if you want to.

Just follow these rules for tinting, and you’ll be fine.