Mississippi Tint Law That You Should Know Update 05/2022

Mississippi Tint Law-2

Here, you’ll learn all you need to know about tinting your Mississippi windows from start to finish. Since these rules went into force in 1988, Mississippi has been among the first states to do so.

When it comes to tinting your windows in this state, you should be aware of more than just the state’s tinting restrictions. You’ll need to be familiar with the principles governing the reflection of window tint and more.

Because of the high temperatures in the summer, it’s important to follow all of the state’s window tinting regulations.

Here we go with the basics of the same, thus without further ado, here we go!

Are You Allowed To Tint Your Windshield And Windows In Mississippi?

Mississippi Tint Law-1

In Mississippi, tinting your windshield and glass is permitted by law. In terms of window regulations, they’re very lenient, but the same can’t be true of windshield regulations.

To tint your windshield, you must use a non-reflective tint. Only the upper half of the windshield can be tinted, and only if the AS-1 line is crossed.

VLT percent precisely defines the darkness of the tint on the windows. Your car’s VLT (Visible Light Transmission) % indicates the amount of visible light that can pass through the windows and into the vehicle.

One of the more liberal states in the US when it comes to VLT limitations for both passenger and multi-purpose vehicles, Mississippi is the place to be.

What Is The Darkest Tint You Can Legally Get In MS?

The amount of tint that can be applied to a car in Mississippi varies widely from one vehicle to the next. Passenger cars and SUVs have various rules. The laws also specify various restrictions for each of the vehicle’s windows.

In general, the darkest window tint available in Mississippi is virtually unlimited. There are instances where you are allowed to tint your windows to your heart’s content in the state of California.

Windows for rear and backside windows in multi-purpose vehicles are among these “particular instances.”

Is 20 Tint Illegal In MS?

Passenger automobiles in Mississippi are not allowed to have more than a 20% tint. The state of Mississippi allows for a maximum car tint of 72 percent, according to state law.

Unless, of course, we’re referring to MPVs (Multi-Purpose Vehicles). The back and rear windows of MPVs in Mississippi can be tinted to a maximum of 20 percent.

However, MPVs’ front-side windows are also limited to a maximum tint of 72 percent.

Can You Get Pulled Over For Tinted Windows In Mississippi?

In Mississippi, tinted windows might result in a traffic stop. However, this does not happen very often. Only if you’ve gone over the legal tinting limit or engaged in illegal behaviors such as reckless driving will a law enforcement officer stop you.

To avoid a fine if you’ve exceeded the tinting limit because of a medical exemption, show the officer in question a certificate.

How Much Is A Tint Ticket In MS?

Mississippi is one of the worst states in the country when it comes to issuing tint tickets.

Mississippi, unlike most states, has a maximum fine of $1000 for breaking window tinting restrictions.

As a result, most drivers in the state are well-versed in the state’s tint laws, which is no surprise. Those who flout the state of Mississippi’s window tinting restrictions can additionally face up to three months in prison.

An offender may face both a fine and a jail sentence in severe situations if they break the regulations.

Window Tint Darkness In Mississippi

Once you know what to expect from breaking Mississippi’s window tinting rules, it’s time to look at the state’s restrictions on window tinting for passenger cars and multi-purpose vehicles.

For Passenger Vehicles

Only the upper portion of the windshield is permitted to be tinted with a non-reflective tint.

The Front-Side Windows: A maximum tint of 72% is allowed.

There is a 72 percent tint limit for the rear-side windows.

There is a maximum tint of 72% allowed on the rear window of a vehicle.

For Multi-Purpose Vehicles (MPVs)

Only the upper portion of the windshield is permitted to be tinted with a non-reflective tint.

The Front-Side Windows: A maximum tint of 72% is allowed.

The Rear Windows: There is no restriction on the degree of blackness of the tint.

There is no limit to the darkness of the tint on the back window.

Window Tint Reflection In Mississippi

The state of Mississippi allows a certain level of reflective tint on vehicles because, as I indicated earlier, it gets extremely sunny in the summer.

Let’s have a look at the restrictions for both passenger and multi-purpose cars below:

For Passenger Vehicles

A 20% maximum reflection is possible on the front-side windows.

Reflection from the back-side windows is limited to a maximum of 20 percent.

For Multi-Purpose Vehicles (MPVs)

A maximum of 20% of light can be reflected from the front-side windows.

Reflection from the back-side windows is limited to a maximum of 20 percent.

How Do You Get A Medical Exemption For Window Tint In Mississippi?

If you suffer from certain skin problems that are light-sensitive, you can request for a medical exemption in Mississippi. Lupus and other auto-immune illnesses are also eligible for a medical exemption in California.

Conclusion

To put it another way, it’s safe to say that Mississippi is one of America’s most stringent states in regards to window tinting legislation. Medical exemptions are granted by the state, but that’s all.

If you are found to be in violation of the state’s allowed window tinting restrictions, be prepared to pay a big fine or serve time in jail.

Category: Car.